Pennies From Heaven – The poem

I wrote this little poem in 1998, in honor of my grandfather, Luther “Bunk” Stringer’s passing. I wrote a story by the same name, and will post it at a later date.

Pennies from Heaven

 I found a penny today,

Just laying on the ground.

But it’s not just a penny,

This little coin I’ve found.

Found pennies come from heaven.

That’s what my Grandpa told me.

He said “Angels toss them down.”

Oh, how I loved that story.

He said when an angel misses you,

They toss a penny down,

Sometimes just to cheer you up,

To make a smile out of a frown.

So don’t pass by that penny

When you’re feeling blue;

It may be a Penny from Heaven

That an Angel’s tossed to you.

Copyright © 1998 C Mashburn

The story Pennies From Heaven —> Pennies From Heaven

13 Comments »

  1. Sherry Mashburn said

    I’m your biggest fan!!!

  2. Felicia LaQue said

    These are very good. I cant wait to read your books great work.

    • Thank you, Felicia. I think you will enjoy the books, and I appreciate you purchasing them!

  3. Susan said

    Very good, Charlie! Congratulations.

    • Thank you Susan! Good news! I finally snagged a book signing event at the Barnes & Noble here in College Station. Haven’t firmed the date yet, but my foot is firmly in the door! I will start working on other B&N stores immediately. Is there one in Gadsden?

  4. Anita Martin said

    Loved it! I had a penny appear out of nowhere when my father passed away. Keep writing and blogging Charles! It’s soul food for me!

    • I love it! So good to hear from you, Anita. I hope to meet you when I come to Odessa on June 4th for my book signing. Hastings in Odessa, June 4, 2-4PM. Please come and bring ALL your friends!

  5. Always my favorite poem, picked one up the other day. Maybe it was from Great Grandpa Bunk.

    • Thanks Mike! I bet I have found a thousand pennies since I wrote that poem. Still have every one of them, too!

  6. Sweet…

  7. I like the line … to make a smile out of a frown … it is perfect.
    Very nice …
    Isadora

  8. […] one such person. We’ve never met, but last September she asked my permission to include my poem, Pennies From Heaven, in her novel, A Case of Hearts. Of course, I said yes, as I was thrilled someone would want to […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

