Thank a Lineman

I’m re-posting this one today, in support of my friends, Linda and Russ, at Texas Trading Post, who are featuring a beautiful item on thier site today that was inspired by their friend, Chick Herrin, also known as the “Singing Lineman”. Check out their awesome “Everything Texas” site!

We are constantly reminded that we should appreciate and thank our policemen and firefighters, but I don’t know that I’ve ever heard anyone encouraging folks to appreciate and thank the guys and gals who keep our electricity flowing to our homes and businesses.

I was walking the dog this morning, and passed by a crew working on the power lines down the street. I don’t know if what they were doing was routine maintenance, changing out a transformer, or working on a problem of some sort, but something occurred to me as I passed by them.

My dad and my grandpa were both linemen for many years of their working lives, and so, I have some firsthand knowledge of the dangers, inclement weather and thanklessness that are a part of the job.

Most of us don’t stop to think that when the lights go out and the storm is raging, there are men and women out there getting soaked to the bone and battered by the storm so we can get our lights and heat or A/C back on. All most of us think is, “Why are my lights not on?”

That’s all. I just wanted to put a bug in your ear about some people who work very hard for us.

By the way, when I passed by them on the way home, they were finishing up and putting their tools away, so I went up and shook their hands and thanked them for what they do. At first they looked stunned, but by the time I walked away they were wearing some mighty big grins.

Anyhow, next time you get a chance, thank a lineman. They will appreciate you appreciating them!

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

