I Don’t Know Alan Jackson

I have an Alan Jackson CD called Precious Memories which, in my opinion, is one of the best CDs he’s ever put out. On it, he sings some of the best old gospel hymns, and does them in a beautiful way only he can do them. The album inspired the following poem.

I Don’t Know Alan Jackson

 

I don’t know Alan Jackson

Never met him, or seen him perform

Never read anything about his life

and I don’t know what he believes

But when he sings ‘bout Precious Memories

I am blessed

 

I don’t know why he made the CD Alan Jackson ~ Precious Memories

Maybe because he loves God

And wants to serve Him with his talent

Maybe he made it to make money

No matter his reasons

He’s doing the first one—serving God

 

God made each of us

The way He needs us to be

Some, like Alan Jackson

Have tremendous talents

While others have little to offer

Or so it seems

 

But, whether we realize it or not

We are all doing God’s work

And though it may not be as apparent

As when Alan Jackson and others do it

We bless people

 

When we turn away from worldly things

And meditate on God’s word

We will find Him and know peace

Peace which surpasses our understanding

And love we cannot imagine

And we will share it with others

 

Alan Jackson says it so well

When he sings these words;

Turn your eyes upon Jesus

Look full in His wonderful face

And the things of earth will grow strangely dim

In the light of His glory and grace

 

Copyright © 2013 C Mashburn

 

Sharing this on dVerse Poets Pub’s Poetics: Interactions; where Gretchen Leary encourages us to write a poem about a song that has inspired us. There are many songs that have touched me throughout my life, but the one I chose to write about—Turn Your Eyes Upon Jesus—is one of the best.

16 Comments »

  1. When we turn away from worldly things

    And meditate on God’s word

    We will find Him and know peace….true that brother…perfect poem for a sunday morning as well…three wooden crosses as well hold so much truth for me too…alan jackson is def a cool singer…and doing good work…

    • Randy Travis is about the only other country singer still doing gospel to any degree. Almost all of them did back some years ago. And, yes, his Three Wooden Crosses, is up there with the best of ’em.
      Thanks, Brian, and a good Sunday mornin’ to ya!

  2. Mary said

    I have a friend who goes to as many Alan Jackson concerts as she can. She is my age, but I would say she is a groupie of the man! I do think he is a Christian, from what she has said. I do like his music, but probably wouldn’t buy a CD. There is something about some music though, isn’t there, that really moves a person? And yes, sometimes I think those who perhaps do not believe ARE doing God’s work through the songs they choose to sing. (Leonard Cohen, of course, being one!)

    • Music, though I don’t listen to it as much as I used to–has always inspired me.
      Happy Sunday, Mary!

  3. claudia said

    Some, like Alan Jackson
    Have tremendous talents
    While others have little to offer
    Or so it seems….this was the part that struck me most..i think everyone has something to give..and it may look small but for the one who receives..the smile..the helping hand…the open ear…it’s big and precious.. happy sunday to you charles

    • That was the point I hoped to get across with this one, Claudia! Thank you for stopping by!

  4. Sherry Mashburn said

    I love this album, too. Great poem, Charlie.

  5. “And the things of earth will grow strangely dim

    In the light of His glory and grace”

    That is so powerful and so very very true.

  6. Not familiar with Alan Jackson but you sure presented reasons for me to check out his music!

  7. I can’t say that I’ve heard of Alan Jackson but some music just brings such peace and harmony to our lives… and I do believe we all have our own special talents maybe not always visible but they do make this world a better place. Nice one Charles 🙂

    • Being a country boy, it amazes me that some folks don’t know who Alan Jackson is. But, I don’t know who a lot of the new country singers are, so I guess it’s all about where and when you were listening to whatever kind of music you listen to. Music is inspirational though, in whatever form one enjoys. And, yes, we all have a part to play; some big and some small.

  8. I love what you wrote…I don’t know the singer or the cd…I do know Randy Travis has done some gospel as you mentioned…I do love to hear him sing…and I agree with :catnipoflife who said
    “Not familiar with Alan Jackson but you sure presented reasons for me to check out his music!”

    Thanks for a wonderful post.
    Peace and love
    Siggi

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

