Kellie Elmore Makes Me So Mad!

She makes me so mad because she has a way of pulling me into her world and making me sad—making me feel the hurts I’ve put aside. She has a way of saying these things… these things that make your chest tighten, your eyes moisten, and your fists clench. And she does this with words on a page.

jaggedlittlepieces_flatv2I’ve only read the first section of Kellie Elmore’s new book of poetry, Jagged Little Pieces, but already I am (as usual) amazed at her talent. She says she’s worried how her readers will accept this second book, it being so different from her first one, Magic in the Backyard. Ha! The only thing she needs to worry about in that regard is that “Jagged” will leave “Magic” in the dust! Not that Magic wasn’t brilliant—as is everything this talented young lady writes—but if this first part of “Jagged” is any indication, she has grown enormously in her ability to capture her life—our lives—in poetic song.

Even if you think you don’t like poetry, get a copy of Jagged Little Pieces, disregard the form in which it’s written, and read it like it’s a story. Because, that’s exactly what it is.

And it is awesome!

 

20 Comments »

  1. I have not received my order from Amazon yet thought it would be here Sat but probably today…I am so excited. I bought 6 copies of her Magic and gave as gifts because it was so powerful and parallel to my own life growing up with gram. I am so excited for this one I can barely stand it and to read your review of what you have read so far makes my mouth water LOL great review Charles I know she will appreciate it! God bless my friend

  2. Based on this review I think I will be picking this up.

  3. Charles, I did read this but it was on Amazon. I wasn’t sure who wolfwriter was but now that you said it was you, I remember your review of Magic. (If I’d only looked back at magic I might have had a clue)

    Thank you sooooooooo much for your kind words and I am soooooo happy that you are enjoying Jagged so far. It really is so very touching to hear that I was able to make the reader feel my words. That is all I ever want to do is evoke some emotion, something real. Thank you for confirming that I did so. I appreciate you so much, I really do mean that. You always bring me a smile even when I feel I didn’t do so well. Thank you for that.
    BIG HUGE BEAR HUG!!!!!!!! xoxoxoxox
    Kellie

    • You are quite welcome, and I finished the book shortly after I posted the comment. I will go back to Amazon and complete the review. I have to tell you though, I wish I had the time to comment on each and every poem. As I read them, I started thinking I could write a novel using them as an outline; that’s how well they portrayed the story you were telling. Awesome work, Kellie. Simply awesome!

  4. Oh wow! I’d looooove to read that! Get to work! lol! 🙂

    and thank you again. I am looking forward to the rest of your review…with jitters. Sorry, I can’t help it. 🙂

    Much love,
    Kellie

  5. Just read your revision to the review! THANK YOU! I am so happy! I really am glad you liked it. My nerves were/are shot awaiting everyones thoughts on it, especially those who read Magic. You put me at ease with your words of encouragement and I thank you sooooooo much. Did I say thank you? lol!

    Now…as for that novel… 😉

    • I wish you the best with this one and all the ones to follow!

      Page one:
      It’s funny how some memories lurk in the dark corners of your mind, triggered by a touch, a sound, a smell, or something you see. This one, the one that haunts me like the ghost of every sad Christmas, the one where I feel as though I’m flying, is the worst. And it takes nothing, or anything, to trigger it.
      A touch, unexpected, to my arm–in the place where her hand suddenly was, lifting me off the ground and into the air so abruptly and unexpectedly–starts the projector ticking in my mind and then the movie–a grainy black and white–begins to play.
      I was sitting in the sandbox–who knew, at three and a half years old that one should not play in the sandbox when guests were due any moment, and you had on the pretty pink dress Grammy had sent.
      And then I was flying, or at least that was my first thought. Had I known of aliens at such a tender age, I might have believed I was being snatched into the spaceship of one which had slipped silently through the morning, hidden by the bright May sun. But the angry voice piercing the silence told me it was not flight, not other-worldly things… it was her. I stared at her with eyes too wide and startled to shed tears, as she screamed things I did not understand.
      I tremble even now, thinking back on that long ago day, and the thought–the question–comes drifting back into my mind; Is it wrong to play in the sand?

      Sorry… I got carried away–that happens, I guess you know. Upon re-reading the above, I might re-write it into poem form. What do you think?

      • Sherry Mashburn said

        Wow, Charlie! Once again, you leave me wanting more. I do hope you continue with this. Just ordered “Jagged” . . . I can’t wait to get started.

      • I wrote chapter one this morning. Going to email it to Kellie this afternoon. I’ll copy you with it. (You know how I love to make you wait for the next chapter! 🙂 )

  6. What do I think? I think I have frikkin goosebumps up my neck and across my arms…that’s what! I could envision this so clearly and when you stopped I was like NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO keep going!

    I’m waiting … 😉

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

