I Smell Cookies

Irony? Seems to me the same guy playing the lead role in Pulp Fiction, then playing the lead in Michael—a movie about an angel—now that’s about as ironic as it can get. Then there’s that wild and crazy, mixed-up kid who never thought he’d see twenty-one; now he’s sixty-somethin’, and tryin’ to live like an angel. Are you kiddin’ me?

I Smell Cookies

 

Thinkin’ ‘bout angels Travolta - Michael

Always makes me smile

I liked the one… Michael

The way he was in the movie

 

Cool… angels should be cool

Holy too, but cool about it

Heavenly, but real

If I were an angel, I’d be real

 

But I’m just a guy

Kinda messed up, but tryin’

Tryin’ to be real and cool

And not mess up too much

 

It’s hard, ya know

Tryin’ to be good… or cool

Must be hard bein’ an angel too

A lot ridin’ on your wings

 

People expect a lot from angels

Especially nowadays

Maybe… I’ll just be glad I’m me

And just keep makin’ cookies

 

Copyright © 2013 C Mashburn

 

Sharing this on dVerse Poets Pub’s Meeting the Bar feature today.

38 Comments »

  1. ha, we do expect a lot of our angels…if they are not perfect, well we take their wings…hard to be cool…and good…smiles. i agree…i will take my angels real…

  2. claudia said

    making cookies and trying to be real sounds good to me..smiles

  3. Sherry Mashburn said

    I love the smell of cookies!

  4. LOL I like this one…I like cookies too 😉

  5. Tony Maude said

    It must be hard being an angel – I have enough trouble trying to be a decent human being, whatever that is.

    • The good thing is, they don’t keep changing the rules for angels. With us humans, they’re constantly moving the bar. Or pub. 🙂

  6. Love, love, love it. The last line is such a twist and the voice is, indeed, cool, Charles. As for Michael, he could watch over me any day.

  7. Grace said

    I agree its hard being an angel, a lot expectations to live up too ~

  8. Yum cookies… I’d hate to be an angel way too much work I’d rather be a cookie monster too! 🙂

  9. Truedessa said

    it’s hard to be an angel tryin’ to be good or kool..I always liked that movie Michael..you know there are no fallen angels just angels that have fallen..we all have wings..some of us just haven’t discovered it yet.

  10. aka_andrea said

    loved that movie, I think I’d be that kind of angel too, and who doesn’t love cookies!

  11. adorable — great images and nice slow lead to the punch line — keep making cookies, leave the angel stuff to the dreamers.

  12. In some cases cookies would make you an angel… Maybe fortune-cookies?

    • The grandkids have granted me sainthood because of my cookies. That’s close enough, eh?

  13. Mary said

    Ha, I think the expectations for / demands on an angel would be hard to keep up with. Being human, for now, seems the wiser course. (Smiles)

  14. Pass the cookies please! Very charming poem =)

  15. Raivenne said

    There are days when I’m down right angelic, they are far and few between however, lol. I’ll have a couple of dem dere cookies please! Perfect grin for a Friday morning.

  16. A lot riding on those wings – GREAT line, Charles! Me, I’m like Mae West: “I’m No Angel.” She is also famous for saying, “I used to be Snow White… but I drifted.”

    Love the Pulp Travolta, then the Michael Travolta comparison. Now he looks like Pillsbury Doughboy with Hair Plugs Travolta! But as far as angels are concerned, I know they are all around, giggling at our antics and the way I tend to burn the bottoms of cookies… Loved this. Amy

    • Yep, John’s gettin old and loosing his charm. Happens to the best of us! Do you make black-bottom biscuits, too?

  17. Rowan Taw said

    Well, Lucifer made a bad job of being an angel. Given how badly he went wrong, I’ll stick to human problems!

  18. zongrik said

    cookies and angels, how sweet 😉

    First Rose

  19. Reblogged this on Marbles In My Pocket ~ The Official Blog of Charles L. Mashburn ~ Poems, Short Stories, and random thoughts from the author of "Be Still… and know that I am God" and commented:

    Hey, I’m totally cool with making cookies.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

