A Rainbow in the Dark

I posted a story version of this on Saturday, but here’s the original poem—one of many I’ve written for Sherry. She’s been my inspiration and number one fan for 18 wonderful years. I’m a lucky, lucky man!

A Rainbow in the Dark

 

If I’ve never said it before

I’ve thought it so many times

Every day, every night, I think

How lucky I am you’re mine

 

You’re my reason to rise each day

My rest at every day’s end

When you’re not there beside me

I feel as empty as the wind

 

But I do each day with hope

For I know that even though

You may not be there beside me

Your love goes wherever I go

 

You’re the sun upon my shoulder

As I drive down every road

You’re the cool breeze on my brow

When I carry a heavy load

 

You’re my light when dark clouds gather

Sometimes with little warning

You’re my hope, my love, my refuge

You’re my angel of the morning

 

Mere words are small, not near enough rainbow in the dark

To describe how you fill my heart

Your love overwhelms and amazes me

Like a rainbow in the dark

 

Copyright © 2007 C Mashburn

 

Sharing this on dVerse Poets Pub’s Open Link Night #92 this afternoon.

Click here to read the story version —> Like A Rainbow in the Dark

17 Comments »

  1. Sherry Mashburn said

    I’m the lucky one!

  2. Sweet and lovely …

  3. shanyns said

    ❤ this…so very very much!

  4. Truedessa said

    A beautiful write and lovely tribute to Sherry.

  5. Pamela said

    Very nice, Charles. Your wife is a lucky girl.

    Pamela

  6. ayala said

    You are both lucky..sweet!

  7. You got tears here…what a lucky girl your wife is and how wonderful she must be to inspire such words. Just beautiful Charles! 🙂

  8. “Like a rainbow in the dark” – what a nice image!

    and also really liked,

    “When you’re not there beside me

    I feel as empty as the wind” –

    i know that feeling charles, one i’ve come to realize i’m lucky to have at times; you’re a fortunate person to have such a love, thanks so much charles 😉

  9. Reblogged this on Marbles In My Pocket ~ The Official Blog of Charles L. Mashburn ~ Poems, Short Stories, and random thoughts from the author of "Be Still… and know that I am God" and commented:

    WAIT! This is the poem version of the story from yesterday. Sometimes I turn a story into a poem, and other times, I turn a poem into a story. In this instance the poem (written in 2007) came first. Sherry and I are working on our 22nd year now, and she’s still hanging in there!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

