Right or Wrong

I’ve gotten to the point where I don’t like to chime in on the craziness going on all around us. After a while it all sounds the same and the words become meaningless. The world has seemingly gone mad, and the constant cacophony of “information” is deafening. I keep wondering when it will fade and there will be nothing left but white noise.

Right or Wrong

 

The battle rages on

But nothing really changes

There is good, and there is evil

And I suppose there is something in between

But is there?

I don’t think so

 

But then, that’s just my opinion

And right or wrong

Some will hate me for it

And, therein lies the problem

 

The world has become

A society of my-way-or-the-highway

And if you take the wrong road

You are the enemy

 

Copyright © 2013 C Mashburn

Sharing this on dVerse Poets Pub’s Meeting the Bar feature. I debated on whether or not to post something, as, sadly, there seems to be a battle raging there these days, as well.

 

20 Comments »

  1. I agree 100% and have learned to tune out the noise to maintain my own sanity. … Surely the pendulum will start to swing back to a more balanced position before it’s too late. We can but hope. … Be well, Dorothy 🙂

  2. Sherry Mashburn said

    Gotta be careful of that “white noise”. When you get used to the white noise, that’s when something important could sneak in.

  3. Better to be an enemy of the world and a friend of God! 🙂

  4. claudia said

    The world has become

    A society of my-way-or-the-highway

    And if you take the wrong road

    You are the enemy…. this really makes me think…in a totalitarian state you have this communicated very clearly…in a democracy they tell you, you can choose, but can we really…?

    • No, I think we cannot. A democracy, unfortunately, is a house divided. One road is always wrong to those who wish to travel the other. Democracy merely allows the more actively engaged group to force their travel plans on all.

      • Rowan Taw said

        We just get a vote every few years to make us feel better.

      • And that’s about all it amounts to. The lunatics have gained control of the asylum, and they will fight to the death to stay at the controls. And I’m not talkin party politics; it’s all of them. They’re out of control.

  5. And many times you’re damened if your do and damned if you don’t.. very very true.

  6. kkkkaty said

    Often wish I had grown up in another country…then I think again…where might that be?

  7. That white noise can cover a lot of lies, smooth over tensions that aren’t settled (then they explode), and generally spin whatever politicians hawk. You bring up good points and we poets have to decide if we’re contributing signal or static.

    • Seems that’s what the problem is these days, Anna; lies. The truth isn’t as popular as it once was. Unless I’m writing for sheer entertainment value, almost everything I write these days is the truth. I’m not afraid to bare my soul, and I am not politically correct. In fact, I’d go so far as to say white noise and political correctness are one in the same.
      (I guess you know there will be a poem on my blog in the near future titled, “White Noise”.) 🙂

  8. Lydia said

    You are so right about that! I have actually pondered the whole mess, wondering when the tone of everything changed. Vietnam? Not exactly, but perhaps a beginning. The Reagan years? Getting closer, I think. And it grew from that point. (Of course, this is just my opinion and there is likely someone out there who has the “truth”!!!)

    • I think it started long before that, Lydia, but I do think the sixties–Vietnam, etc–could have been when things began to accelerate. I look back at the late fifties and early sixties (I was just a kid then) and think how simple those times were. Part of the problem these days is we have too much, and often have to do little to obtain it. I could go on and on, so don’t get me started!

  9. Reblogged this on Marbles In My Pocket ~ The Official Blog of Charles L. Mashburn ~ Poems, Short Stories, and random thoughts from the author of "Be Still… and know that I am God" and commented:

    Same stuff, different day. The world just keeps on spinning.

    • Sherry Mashburn said

      Yep . . . spinning and wobbling on its axis

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

