High On Danger

We did a lot of crazy things when we were kids, and we never thought of them as wrong, or bad; just fun. Sometimes our antics would backfire on us—actually, they almost always backfired on us—but failure never slowed us down. We drank a few beers now and then, but didn’t know about drugs. We were just high on danger… as it were.

High On Danger

 

Excitement muffles the noise

Of the old pickup jostling

Over the rutted road

Hidden by the darkness… sort of

 

Three teenage boys

High on nothing but danger

Stare through the windshield

With wide eyes… blind

 

Stopped then, all is still

One eases the door open

It screeches like a wounded hare

And they freeze in place… giggling

 

They jump the ditch

Then crouching, move into the field

Vines rustling as they go

Hearts thumping… wildly

 

One bends and grabs the prize

Holds it out to the others

Lookit the size of this thing

He whispers… loudly

 

A door slams in the darkness gran-torino-porch

A gun roars in the night

Laughing, one carrying the prize

Salt pellets sputtering at their heels… they run

 

From his porch

The farmer curses and shouts

You better run!

Git outta my melon patch… you dang kids

Copyright © 2013 C Mashburn

Hoping this fits the prompt, so I can share it on dVerse Poets Pub’s thursday feature. Yay! It fit!! The prompt is Your Voice: Let’s Hear It, and I do have a certain style/voice–maybe more than one, actually.

29 Comments »

  1. Susan said

    Seems to me, most farmers were once on the other side of the issue and found the event sporting fun too.

  2. haha…i had buckshot rain follow me through a field or two in my younger days…ha…and one time thought for sure i would not be making it out alive…oy that one was close…smiles…

  3. claudia said

    haha..i love melons…so i would’ve been up for this as well probably…smiles

  4. Kids are kids most often.. myself I was a quiet and silent kid…. but I could cerainly see this around me.

  5. Tony Maude said

    Great fun – both at the time and in recollection. You do write these reminiscences well, Charles.

  6. This has me laughing out loud, Charles. Why is it that things that are dangerous (and those that are forbidden) seem to be so much more enticing?

    • If it was dangerous and/or exciting, me and my buds was all over it! Going to spend a week with one of them this month. Fishin, golfin, maybe pilferin a melon or two.

  7. heidi said

    very funny Charles…dang kids!

  8. Raivenne said

    Hahahaha! Yeah, I’ve done my share of ducking salt when ‘pilferin’. See that gleam? That’s me agrinnin’ at so many memories.

  9. aka_andrea said

    it’s a little sad that most of us outgrow the thought of ever doing stuff like this, and we just end up buying our melons at the grocery store 😉

  10. Rowan Taw said

    It would be hard to resist the temptation, although I’ve never seen melons growing (it was scrumping for apples, and getting conkers for me).

    • When I was twelve or so, we had four large fruit trees in our back yard–two apricot, two plum–but we would sneak into the neighbor’s yard at night and rob from their trees. Again, it was the high on danger syndrome.

  11. viv blake said

    They call that scrumping in UK. It sounds like harmless fun until you mention shotgun pellets, then it’s serious.

    • The farmers used salt pellets in their shotguns, and the shots were usually “warning” shots fired into the air. We never got hit, but knew a couple of kids that did. If a salt pellet breaks the skin, it will sting like the dickens! The sound of the gun and the sputter of the pellets hitting the vines only added to the excitement!

  12. for us it was a wizzened old woman…with shotgun at the ready telling us..”I think you’ve strayed”…and in other words wanting us off her land….we were picking field mushrooms in the cattle field …..what memories!!

  13. ha ha… I can just see you boys running for your lives and the farmer on the front porch…he must have loved his melons… terrific slice of your childhood Charles very much enjoyed!

  14. Reblogged this on Marbles In My Pocket ~ The Official Blog of Charles L. Mashburn ~ Poems, Short Stories, and random thoughts from the author of "Be Still… and know that I am God" and commented:

    I can vaguely recall one of the times we did this, and this.It was in Arlington, and the name of the farmer is right on the edge of my mind. Maybe one of the two fellas that were with me can jog my memory.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

