Somehow Somber

It’s Friday, and Kellie Elmore finally posted the prompt for this week’s Free Write Friday. She thought maybe we could write something using the following words: lazy – rain – perspective – glint – somber – trinket – static. I gave it a shot.

Somehow Somber

 I sat there, shoulders slumped

Body trembling, heart aching

Tears flowing steadily

Like maybe they’d never stop

 

A single dark cloud cloud over road

Small and somehow somber

Moved slowly down the street

Coming toward me

 

As it passed slowly by

A lazy rain—like a shower turned on real low

Fell softly from its black belly

Sounding like static on a radio

As it hit the hot asphalt

 

From my current perspective

It was as though someone

Had bumped the dial

On the old Buick’s radio… or my life

Knocking it between stations

 

I reached up and lightly touched

The trinket hanging by a chain

From the rearview mirror

 

Then… when the little cloud was past silver cross

And the sun came out

The tiny silver cross sparked

A quick glint of dazzling light

As it slowly turned

 

I miss her so much

 

Copyright © 2013 C Mashburn

20 Comments »

  1. Sherry Mashburn said

    Awesome perspective 😉 not the take I was expecting.

  2. wonderful response to the prompt 😉 third line has a double ‘a’ in steaadily …which only makes you more like me I tend to press quickly and firmly 😉

  3. OMG Charles … such an awesome poem and such vivid imagery!!! This line I LOVE: A lazy rain—like a shower turned on real low

  4. Really good imagery but such a sad ending.

  5. heidibarnes11 said

    Beautiful. I felt the emotions from beginning to end, maybe because I have been there, but I think more because of your way with words. 🙂

  6. Beautiful Charles, stunning imagery…I loved the fourth stanza, something that happens to us all at times living between stations, lovely take on the prompt. Awesome write! 🙂
    I’ve got the words but have yet to put something together…thought I’d take a walk first clear the head!

    • Thanks, Dianne!
      I do that sometimes too–take a walk– to mull the words and lines. I put togther a lot of stories and poems that way.

  7. evocative…

  8. debzywebzy said

    How fantastic! I most liked “A lazy rain – like a shower turned on real / low / fell softly from its black belly”. Solid stuff.

  9. Lovely 🙂

  10. neenslewy said

    An amazing FWF, powerful. A cinematic journey you took me on. A unravelling poem, much liked. Reminded me of ‘The Bridges of Madison County’ – that mix of hope and despair, love and loss.
    This poem will stay with me.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

