I Should

I know people who live with anger, hate, and bitterness so entrenched in their mind and heart they cannot see good in anything. Their life is one of misery, devoid of joy and peace. It pains me to see them so, because I know what it’s like; I’ve been there. But there’s nothing I can do for them; one has to cast off his own demons. It’s a personal thing.

I Should

 

I should be angry at you

The things you said were hurtful

Obviously, it was your intent

Your frantic attempt to divert attention

Away from your own pain

Your bitterness at life

And its unfairness

 

I should feel sad for you despair

Seeing you in such despair

Suffering the guilt and shame

Wondering if it will ever go away

Or will the darkness, the fear, remain

It’s up to you

Happiness is a choice

 

I should hate you for the lies

For trying to twist things around

Make it my fault; anyone’s fault but your own

But I have no time for hating

And besides

Even though you don’t want to believe it

I love you

 

Copyright © 2013 C Mashburn

 

I’ll be sharing this on dVerse Poets Pub’s Open Link Night #95 this afternoon. Right now, I got some “jammin” to do. (Apricot!)

32 Comments »

  1. Sherry Mashburn said

    POWERFUL!!!

  2. Happiness is a choice – I like that a lot Charles…

    and then the end explaining .. explaining.. great piece

  3. ladynyo said

    Oh, Charles, you have captured the essense of sanity and humane-ness here.

    Very good.

    Lady Nyo

  4. Rhonda L. Brockmeyer said

    And…that sounds like life and relationships of all kinds 🙂

  5. Talon said

    I couldn’t help thinking, while reading this, that we truly do hurt the ones we love the most.

    • True, and unfortunately, that is exactly what inspired this one; a situation very close to me, that is very sad to watch.

  6. ugh…its hard man…the loving them in spite of them trying to turn it back on you…i struggle with letting them go as well..not that i can change anyone…but its the broken ones that def call to me…and break my heart…

  7. Raivenne said

    ‘Happiness is a choice”
    “I have no time for hating”
    “I love you”

    Amen

  8. Truedessa said

    Strong words about conflict and ownership of actions..but, in the end there is love..

    • Sometimes it’s the hardest thing we do, but we must forgive and continue to love.
      Thanks!

  9. ayala said

    So hard..we hurt the ones that we love…a powerful write.

  10. aka_andrea said

    strange how we tend to lash out when we are hurt, I’ve been guilty of that and always wish in hindsight I had taken the higher road.

    • We’ve all been guilty of it. It’s human reaction to want to spread the pain around; misery loves company is not just a saying, it’s the truth. But I believe it’s okay to experience anger, and pain, and it’s even okay to react poorly. The thing is, we have to experience it, then let it go and move on. Forgive, forget–apologize if need be–then move on. One day, one step, at a time.

  11. Mary said

    Sometimes love is the best way! Can be very disarming to a mean – spirited person.

  12. Stunning….. These are the exact words I have been searching for in order to share with someone in my own life, exactly dead on! But it’s true. Those who spread hatred are simply diverting themselves away from something missing in their own lives. And it is hard to feel sorry for them when they have or are attacking you with their venom…. This is a topic not often travelled by most poets, who seem to gravitate mnore toward the shiny things in life – like little polished marbles! Excellent topic and decisive wording….

    • Thanks, John. I’m glad it can be a help to you.
      As for traveling topics not often traveled, I tend to say what’s on my heart and mind.
      I’m glad you enjoyed this!

  13. Tony Maude said

    Too often we hold on to what we should let go and fail to grasp what we so desperately need. Nice writing, Charles.

  14. Hello Charles,

    Nice to meet you. I love how you finish this, love certainly is enduring- even when under fire.

    • Pleased to meet you, as well! So glad you stopped by. Thank you, and don’t be a stranger!

  15. and the closer to us the harder 😉

    really really liked the ending charles :

    “But I have no time for hating

    And besides

    Even though you don’t want to believe it

    I love you”

    thank you 😉

  16. Awesome poem Charles, hard hitting yet compassionate. There can be difficult days with the people we love… especially when they’re so angry and uptight. Have been there too. 🙂

    • I used to be one of those people, but I don’t have time to be unhappy anymore.
      Thanks, Dianne!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

