What’s In Your Wallet? ~ May 25

What’s In Your Wallet?

A picture of someone you love?

Receive my instruction, and not silver; and knowledge rather than choice gold. Proverbs 8:10

There’s a credit card commercial which asks, “What’s in your wallet?” Not many of us can answer, “A picture of Jesus.”

Oh, I know, we need money to get by in this world, but I suggest we need far less than we think we do. As is true in so many things we think we need, we’ve been brainwashed into thinking more is better.

The problem lies in the use of the word need; we’ve allowed ourselves to be convinced we need a lot more than we actually do. The word need has grown to include what we want, and actually, need and want have become one in the same; if we want it, we need it, and if we don’t have it, by golly, we’ll find a way to get it.

When is enough money or stuff enough? Instead of spending our lives trying to get more, we should spend more time enjoying what we have. I’m betting most of us already have a whole lot more than we need. If we spend more time focusing on Jesus, desiring His will for our lives, and less time trying to obtain more money and possessions, our wallets will always have what we need in them. I believe that!

2 Comments »

  1. gmapoetry said

    I agree, Charles. If only we would learn this before we reach “old” age. How my values have come in to focus since retirement and the rush of life has slowed. Thank you for this reminder.

    • I don’t know how many times I’ve said, “I wish I’d known then what I know now,” but it’s a bunch!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

