Rise and Shine!

Bathroom poetry? Surely you jest! But, no, that is exactly what Claudia has suggested we write about this afternoon. So I went to where I do my best thinking, and in no time at all I came up with this entertaining piece of work.

Rise and Shine!

 

Known by many names

The stool, the throne and others

Tis a place where all have sat

Mothers, sisters, fathers, brothers

 

But none have called it by the name

That my dear old grandpa did

No, I’ll ne’er forget the morning

When I were but a kid

 

The bathroom shared a wall you see

Where I lay sleeping like a slug

Jarred awake first thing in the morn

As Pa sat on the thunder mug

 

Copyright © 2013 C Mashburn

 

Sharing this silly little poem on dVerse tonight. Bathroom poetry? This could have gotten nasty!

 

37 Comments »

  1. hahahahaha the thunder rug….geez…can you imagine waking up to that…smiles…lol…nice…thanks for the chuckles charles…

    • I DID wake up to that! This is a true “day in the life” experience of yours truly!

  2. Truedessa said

    Well, this made me laugh I’ve never heard of it referred to as a thunder mug..still laughing

    • I’m wondering if anyone but me and a few select cousins have ever heard it referred to as that!
      Thanks for the comment!

  3. Thunder downunder.

  4. Grace said

    That is a new one – thunder mug – ha..ha… ~

  5. That is hilarious! Grandpa’s quite original and now I get your Morning Thunder comment–

  6. Sherry Mashburn said

    Made me laugh out loud!

  7. claudia said

    the thunder mug…very cool…we have a similar expression in germany…the donnerbalken..and even a song to go with it..ha..i have to sing it in the pub one day…smiles

  8. Ha ha, what a wake-up 😉

  9. lol that’s so awesome

    The new prompt is up Charles =)

  10. Laurie Kolp said

    Haha… thunder mug, that’s great.

  11. Never heard it called a thunder mug before, very funny,
    no one likes getting jarred awake in the morning that I know of, too bad about that !

    • It seems this is a new one to everyone. I thought it was commonly known. 🙂

      • Mary said

        Oh, Charles, this made me laugh. “Thunder mug” — I can see why!! (Or hear why….LOL.)

      • Made me laugh too–when it happened!
        Thanks, Mary! Have a great day!

  12. heidibarnes11 said

    LOL I think your grandpa had it right! Whoever designed that thing had a sadistic mind because quiet it is not!

  13. De Jackson said

    Ha! What a fun take!

  14. Leovi said

    Excellent fun poem, I love it!

  15. zongrik said

    There are way to many nicknames and euphemisms for toilets, you are right!!!

    high tech toilet power

  16. Akila said

    ooops! that must have been quite a fun and well, something for a laughing riot!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

