Mirage

Several days ago, I saw a scene on TV. It was there, then it was gone, but it remained burned into my memory, and I jotted down a few notes. I wrote a poem about it this morning. I hope you enjoy it.

Mirage

 

Not knowing how I arrived here Babbling brook

I stand beside a gurgling stream

Gazing to the west

 

The distant hills are dark

The sun not yet high enough

To light them

 

The taller mountains

Behind the purple hills

Are bathed in sunlight

 

The morning air is cool

Yet I feel the warm sunshine

On my back, through my shirt

 

A sensory mirage

As I stand in pre-dawn shade

Basking in the wonder of it all

 

My senses are alive

The world is alive

I am loved

 

Copyright © 2013 C Mashburn

 

 

4 Comments »

  1. Sherry Mashburn said

    I love this!! Not only can I see the scene, I can feel the sun on my back, too.

  2. It’s wonderful to walk and enjoy the sunrise and the morning…

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

