Daydream Believer

You’re young. You are standing in front of a shop window watching something on the black and white television inside. A woman grabs your hand and runs down the street, pulling you along…

The above was Kellie Elmore’s Free Write Friday prompt this week. As I do from time to time, I got a bit silly with it. Enjoy!

Daydream Believer 

It was almost lunchtime in Denver, so it was after noon in New York; I never could get it straight what the time difference was from one place to another. I wondered if it was like ten minutes later on the other side of town, then wondered who thought up stuff like time zones. How come it wasn’t just the same time everywhere?

The sun was warm on my back, and I was standing on the sidewalk watching the Yankees and Red Socks play Boy looking in windowbaseball some 2000 miles away on a small black and white TV. I couldn’t hear the announcers; either the sound was turned down, or the hardware store’s plate glass window was too thick. I figured it was just as well though. I’d heard Dad telling Mom that they might fire Dizzy Dean for using bad grammar; something about kids like me hearing him say words wrong and copying him. Whatever.

I was about to turn away from the TV when something strange happened; Yastrzemski slapped a single past Moose Skowron at first base, and when Moose turned to right field, a woman ran past him heading toward home plate. She didn’t have any clothes on.

Yaz stopped halfway to first and stood dumbfounded as she ran by him. Moose walked over to Yaz and said something, then they both appeared to laugh. I was wondering why the woman wasn’t wearing clothes. Yaz grinned and trotted to first, and then it was back to baseball as if nothing had happened. A commotion down the sidewalk to my right caused me to turn in that direction, and I watched as Saturday morning shoppers parted on the sidewalk, some of them shouting, others laughing and even some whistling.

My eyes about came out of my head when the woman came through the parted crowd. She was naked as a jaybird, grinning like a tomcat, and gorgeous! Of course, to a thirteen-year-old boy, any naked woman is gorgeous.

As she got closer to me, she pointed at me then waved. I was so focused on other things, I barely saw her hand move, but when I did, I raised my hand to return the wave. I nearly got whiplash when she grabbed my wrist and pulled me along behind her, continuing down the crowded sidewalk, dragging me along with her. The shouts, whistles and laughter got louder, and then began to fade until the world around us was silent. Then… suddenly… she was gone.

From down the hall, Mom yelled, “Jimmy! Lunch is ready!”

*

I rolled off my bed, and as I walked toward the hallway, I reached to turn off the TV. My hand froze halfway to the knob when the announcer shouted, “Yaz slaps one past Skowron into right field for a base hit!”

38 Comments »

  1. Susan said

    Entertain and so very creative! Great post!

  2. Sherry Mashburn said

    HA!!

  3. heidibarnes11 said

    LOL I bet a few teenage boys had dreams like that. Charles, you never disappoint and always entertain. Never stop what you are doing. 🙂

  4. young boys and their thoughts…

  5. This is hysterical! A young man’s dream.. a classic baseball match up and a naked woman!

    I grew up watching Yaz play…

    • Me too! I was Yankee fan, because back then Arizona–where I grew up–didn’t have a team, and the Yankees were awesome in the sixties!
      Thanks, Annie!.

  6. Mark said

    Charles, I loved this! Great history intertwined with dreams of a young boy! Great, great!

  7. You really threw me off my seat with the naked woman line! hahahaha! Thank you for another story full of giggles, Charles. You never disappoint. 🙂

  8. xxkultuur said

    A perfectly concise engaging story. Very fun. And now I feel I know a bit more about baseball. 🙂

  9. Sports and naked women, I guess the only thing missing is beer! Very funny 😉

  10. phylor said

    Moose Skowron — I know who he is. Hubby grew up on Long Island, and of course, was a Yankees fan. Every one in the family was, except their mom who liked the Dodgers in the NYC days. My dad was a Giants fan and felt the same thing when they and the Dodgers went to California.
    So, now I know the origin of streaking! Who would of thought it, except a younger version of you, lol.
    Great story!

    • Well now, I just made this up, so don’t go telling folks you know when streaking got started!
      I was a fan of the Moose, but was just a kid, and it was mostly about the name.
      Thanks for the visit and comment!

      • phylor said

        Don’t worry; I remember when streaking was in. Somebody did some sort of comic song called “The Streak” I believe — well past Yaz and Moose on the ball field!

  11. That was great! Had me laughing – and the writing, superb. I was right there, never felt like a dream. Excellent story.

  12. ronman1 said

    Ray Stevens is singing “The Streak” in my mind as I laugh about this post.

  13. Great story Charles…I thought of that Ray Steven’s song too…we don’t have baseball but have seen streakers at the cricket and once a woman streaked across a football game I was watching when young. It was so funny to see all the footballers the game a full stop! This was funny Charles there’s one thing that will never change a naked woman will always get a man or boys attention no matter what they’re doing. 😉

  14. howanxious said

    I loved it.. A really enjoyable read. I think you actually got into the mind of a 13-year old to write it. 🙂

    • hmmm… maybe I HAVE the mind of a thirteen-year-old!
      Thanks!

      • howanxious said

        Now that would be amazing for the readers.. getting to read such posts time and again. 🙂

      • If you look back at some of my past posts, I think you’ll find many stories and poems where I am inside the mind of a youngster. One in particular comes to mind : Cannonball

      • howanxious said

        Oh! Thanks for telling me.. I am going to read it and would definitely look for more. 🙂

      • 🙂

  15. This is absolutely fabulous Charles lol I have a huge smile on my face which is a great way to start my day =)

    The new prompt is up now

  16. Colline said

    Enjoyed the little twist you put to the story.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

