Me? Old? ~ June 21

Me? Old?

I don’t feel old!

Teach the older men to be temperate, worthy of respect, self-controlled, and sound in faith, in love and endurance. Titus 2:2

In about a month, I’ll celebrate my sixty-third birthday. I guess that’s old but, other than a bit of stiffness when I get up after sitting for too long, I don’t feel old. In fact, I feel like I’m still a kid. Fortunately, I don’t act like I’m still a kid.

When I was younger, I didn’t care what people thought. I did whatever I pleased and suffered the consequences. Now… well, I still don’t care much what people think, but I do care what God thinks. And, as a result of caring what God thinks, I inadvertently care what others think. It’s kind of like I’ve stated many times: when we love God, we live our lives the way he would want us to, not because we try to, but because we want to—to please Him.

When we focus on God and live our lives for Him, we don’t have to worry about what others think of us. Our actions are our testimony. When our focus is on God, we become temperate, worthy of respect, self-controlled, and sound in faith, love and endurance. (No, really, we do!) That was God’s plan for us all along.

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

