I’m Goin Fishin! ~ June 30

I’m Goin Fishin!

Well… come on then!

Your love has given me great joy and encouragement, because you, brother, have refreshed the hearts of the saints. Philemon 1:7

We never know when we might encourage another person, and oftentimes we don’t even know we’ve done so. As we go about our daily lives, a sincere greeting, a smile, a few moments to chat with a co-worker and enquire about their day, might be the lift they need to help them cope with a difficulty they’re facing.

I can recall times when I was feeling down, and a stranger showed a kindness, making me smile and feel a little better about things.

I’ll never forget the time I stopped at a historical mill in Arkansas. A toddler was coming out of the mill with his mother as we were going in, and he stopped in front of me. “We’re goin’ fishin’,” he told me excitedly. I grinned at him and said, “Me too!” The little guy just stood there staring at me with gigantic blue eyes, and after about half a minute, said, “Well… come on then!” That brief encounter occurred over twenty years ago, but it blessed me then and has brought a smile to my face many times since. The little boy, obviously, had no idea he was refreshing my heart, but he left a lasting impression on me.

God sends refreshment in many and varied ways. Don’t get so down you forget to look up. You might miss your blessing.

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

