Look! I’m a Star! ~ July 3

Look! I’m a Star!

Well… I’d like to be!

Do everything without complaining or arguing, so that you may become blameless and pure, children of God without fault in a crooked and depraved generation, in which you shine like stars in the universe. Philippians 2:14-15

All of you who feel like you shine like a star in the universe because you are blameless, pure and without fault; raise your hand. (My hands are obviously still on the keyboard.) I often repeat the familiar mantra: I’m not perfect. And I usually follow it with: but I’m trying, or something similar. But as for the complaining part of the equation: good grief! I am so not shining in that department!

When I start grumbling about this little thing or that, and then look around at all the things surrounding me and the blessed life I live, I wonder how I can complain about anything.

As for arguing, we all seem to have within us a driving desire to be correct. I’m still trying to figure out that one. I’m getting better at letting little disagreements slide, though. A quick assessment usually shows them to be very irrelevant in the overall scheme of things.

My plan is to keep focusing on God and loving Him. He’ll keep molding me and holding me to the fire, and one day maybe I’ll burst into flames, soar through the heavens and shine like the star He wants me to be.

2 Comments »

  1. This is the only plan that works. We were meant to be His workmanship.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

