Do As I Say, Not As I Do ~ July 18

Do As I Say, Not As I Do

(I’m working on that)

and be found in him, not having a righteousness of my own that comes from the law, but that which is through faith in Christ—the righteousness that comes from God is faith. Philippians 3:9

I do not consider myself righteous by any stretch of the imagination, and I’m the perfect illustration of “Do as I say, not as I do.” But I do have faith, my faith is strong, and as my love for God grows it surpasses all things in importance.

I don’t get up each morning and plan my day so my love will grow in accordance to the things I do. I love God because as I learn more about Him and realize how much and how completely He loves us, my faith in Him grows stronger.

The coat I wear is not one of righteousness, but I am being fitted for such a garment. I place myself at the feet of the Tailor each day, and by faith and love for Him, I give myself to be fitted in the robes he would have me wear. He tells me they will be purest white. I am so anxious to see them.

No, the man I see in the mirror is not righteous, but, thanks to Jesus, his spirit is.

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

