Kind of Like a Little Brother ~ July 21

Kind of Like a Little Brother

Only different

I have no greater joy than to hear that my children are walking in the truth. 3John 1:4

Families are scattered far and wide these days. I miss the days when we all lived close to one another and spent birthdays, holidays, and even a random Saturday afternoon together. The grandparents were always there, and cousins were like an extra set of siblings; they just lived in a different house and didn’t mess with your stuff as much as your little brother did.

Our saving grace today is the Internet, and it has brought many of us closer. It’s not like it was back in the good ol’ days, but it sure beats the way it was before the Internet came along. Through these encouragements, I communicate with many of my relatives every morning, and although we don’t see one another very often, the love is there, and we’ve become closer in a weird Internet way.

And when a cousin, brother, sister, Mom, any of them send me an email saying how much they enjoy something I’ve written, it brings me joy and blesses me. And when I hear they are walking in God’s truth, I have no greater joy.

This is also true of the many friends—some I’ve yet to meet—who are also a source of joy to me. The Internet has caused my family to not only grow closer, but to grow larger. I love it!

6 Comments »

  1. Growing up I didn’t have siblings and for me my cousins were my sisters and brothers and I was close to several of them (I have an outrageous amount of cousins so not all of them). I was particularly close to my cousin Sheena we did everything together. Even after we moved she would come for weeks in the summer. Now I live in another country and I miss my family. My mom especially! This really touched me =)

    The new prompt is up if you are interested =)

    • My cousin, Ed, was like a brother to me back then. We still have a kinship, but nothing like it was when we were kids.

      • It is the same with me and Sheena it has been years since we have seen each other and we have lives, families of our own. In truth we were always very different but as children it never mattered now it is a little harder because there aren’t games but conversations

      • 🙂

  2. Raivenne said

    So true, so very true.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

