Toothleth In Tekthath ~ Again!

I hate it when this happens! But, yes, here I am again, toothleth in Tekthath, and it couldn’t have happened at a worse time. Well… I guess there isn’t a good time for a 63 year-old man to be missing his front tooth. I reckon I’ll just grin and bare it, literally! Most of you have seen this little story before, but there’s a bonus in this version; Pictures!!

There I was, firmly planted in my office chair, waiting for hundreds of folks to start jamming servers with responses to my FaceBook and blog posts. tick tick tick…

Okay, okay… Don’t panic, I thought. A watched pot never boils. My grandma used to say that, and I learned right away (right away being when I was about 50) what she was really saying was, be patient. That in mind, I decided to go do some other stuff while the pot got hot. That’s my idea of being patient, by the way; do something else. I am not a patient kind of guy.

I jotted down a list of things to do that should have kept me busy all morning and, as it turned out, got one of them done. Almost.

First stop on the list was the local convenience store/restaurant for one of their awesome breakfast tacos. I was happily munching on

Grin and bare it!

Grin and bare it!

said awesome taco, when it suddenly seemed to have something entirely too, crunchy in it; which, upon closer inspection turned out to be my front bridge; a single front tooth that’d been knocked out in a flag football game back in high school. Wonderful!

Back to the house I went, where a frantic search for the super glue was initiated. You know, the stuff you buy a little tube of, use once, move a hundred times, then can’t find when you need it again. Unfortunately… this time, I found it.

Word of caution: never try to reinstall your bridge while looking in the mirror. Things are backward and, well… just don’t.

The dentist was able to see me right after lunch and, chuckling all the while, he removed the tooth from my upper lip and in a matter of minutes had it properly re-installed. I’m fairly sure I heard the entire dental office erupt into uproarious laughter as I was getting into my pickup.

I should have just watched the pot.

OOPS!

OOPS!

Copyright © 2011 C Mashburn

12 Comments »

  1. Sherry Mashburn said

    Love it!!!!! And happy birthday, sweetheart!

  2. Faye said

    Happy Birthday Charlie!

  3. Heidi said

    LOL My family has a few of those stories too. I’m surprised more drs and dentists don’t write books about them. It would be hilarious to read. Glad everything is fixed. 🙂

  4. lynnda stone said

    Missed ur B D sorry. So H B a day late glad u didnt eat ur tooth.

  5. Reblogged this on Marbles In My Pocket ~ The Official Blog of Charles L. Mashburn ~ Poems, Short Stories, and random thoughts from the author of "Be Still… and know that I am God" and commented:

    Sorry, no new pictures. In the infamous words of Kramer from Seinfeld, “I’m HIDEOUS!” So, just enjoy the old pics and story. Thing is, the front tooth beside the bridge broke off too, so now I’m missing BOTH front teeth!

  6. coastalmom said

    You’re funny. Glad I get to finally put a face to your sweet words! Thank you!!

    • I try to bring a little levity to those who read my stuff. And as for the face, now you know why my profile pic is a stuffed duck!

      • coastalmom said

        You have a great face! My face is two decades younger! 😳😉😎

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

