I’ve Had a Few Bumps and Bruises ~ August 10

I’ve Had a Few Bumps and Bruises

But I surely haven’t severely suffered

You became imitators of us and of the Lord; in spite of severe suffering, you welcomed the message with the joy given by the Holy Spirit.1Thessalonians 1:6

I’m not intentionally imitating anyone, and I don’t consider myself to have severely suffered, but I do welcome God’s message with joy I believe is given to me by the Holy Spirit.

I’ve come to realize my life, and nothing in it, is truly mine; it is only mine to use by the grace of God. You know: The Lord giveth, and the Lord taketh away. I take that literally because I believe what we have—health, property, anything and everything—is provided by God.

As for the Holy Spirit, I’m not really sure how to define it, but I believe it is within me. I tend to believe the Holy Spirit is what we refer to as our “gut feeling”, and in essence, it is God’s love. I think it’s the feeling and thought process that takes over our lives when we begin to understand God’s unconditional love.

I start my day reading God’s word, receiving His message, then writing about what I’ve read. He gives me understanding, and I grow closer to Him with each passing day. His message fills me with great joy.

2 Comments »

  1. adopted80 said

    Right on Charlie, this is like a power packed punch. Straightforward in how you start your day with God and then he prepares you to right about how His Word affects you. Keep on trucking as they say. I like it.

    Bart

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

