We’re Number One! ~ August 21

We’re Number One!

There is no second place!

But let all who take refuge in you be glad; let them ever sing for joy. Spread your protection over them, that those who love your name may rejoice in you. Psalms 5:11

I woke up one morning with part of a Bible verse in my mind. (This is not an ordinary occurrence, mind you.) The verse was Romans 8:1; “There is therefore now no condemnation…” The thought that followed that verse was, “And there is therefore no consolation.” I can’t explain why those thoughts came to me as I got out of bed, but I’ll tell you what I think they meant.

By no consolation, I was thinking there is no second place when it comes to God. We’re either in His family all the way, or we’re not. We either win the prize in its entirety, or we don’t. Do you see what I mean? And so the two things, no condemnation and no consolation are, in effect, the same thing. When we love God, we are cleansed of sin—not some sin, but all sin. When we love God, we are number one, we are His, and there is no second place.

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

