Foobaw 2013 ~ Day Ten ~ Workin’ the Bugs Out

Foobaw 2013 ~ Day Ten!

Workin’ the Bugs Out

We got back to College Station last night, and things didn’t go that well. But, I’m not here to tell you about the little problems (one of them was ants, thus the title of this piece), because that’s not what I preach.

I write a daily encouragement, which I post on this blog, and one of my main themes is to “look at the good stuff”. You know, the old count your blessings thing. And the point of this end-of-vacation post is just that.

If we wanted to, we could look back on our recent trip, and list all the bad things we encountered and dealt with over the past nine days, and before long we’d have them enlarged to the point they would be all we would remember. We could also let the little situations we encountered upon our return become our focus, allowing them to override the wonderful trip we had.

But! We saw some of the most beautiful scenery this country has to offer, and got to spend a few days with son Bill, daughter-in-law Meegan, and grandsons Trevor and Nathan. And! We got to see Nathan make two interceptions for touchdowns in the football game Friday night!

My point is, we piled up a mountain of good memories on our trip, and I refuse to let the bad things that happened—or will happen—to detract or lessen the joy these things brought us.

When it comes to the bad stuff, I say, “This, too, shall pass.” But when we’re talking about the good stuff, I say, “Never let it go!”

The Good Stuff!

The Good Stuff!

 P.S.: I thought this was pretty interesting; I read the daily encouragement to Sherry each morning, and I’d written the above before I read it to her today. I write the encouragements ahead of time–sometimes several weeks before the day they’re posted, and many times, the message I’ve written speaks strongly to me the day it’s posted. Take a look at this one, and you’ll see what I mean: I’m Not There Yet

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

