I Want to be Rich! ~ September 23

I Want to be Rich!

But I’m not talking about money

Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. Matthew 5:3

These are some of the most famous words ever uttered by Jesus, and quite possibly, some of the most misunderstood. We sometimes imagine the poor in spirit as a defeated bunch, heads hanging and a dejected posture, and I think that’s incorrect. Being poor in spirit means we’re not fully aware of God’s unconditional love, and we’re just getting by when we could be thriving.

The good news is, it doesn’t matter. That’s right, it doesn’t matter, and the reason it doesn’t matter is because Jesus says it doesn’t. The next two or three weeks of encouragements will be based on the words of Jesus. Words which could be the most important words ever spoken, words that have been discussed and interpreted for centuries, words that, should we choose to live by them, can change our lives, and, most importantly, words that can encourage us.

I consider myself to be somewhere in the “middle class” of the spiritual wealth categories, and my favorite verse illustrates that point quite well: Philippians 3:13 says, “Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead.

I strain daily toward; more love, more knowledge, and the kingdom of heaven. The wealth I seek is God’s love, and when it comes to that, I want to be rich!

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

