Always Have A Plan “B”! ~ October 16

Always Have A Plan “B”!

And “C”… And “D”

But the fruit of the spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self control. Against such things there is no law. Galatians 5:22-23

Faithfulness is not the same as faith. Faithfulness with regard to fruits of the spirit means we are unwavering in our commitment to love, peace, joy, patience, kindness, gentleness, and self-control, and we stand firm, not allowing our circumstances to sway us. That’s a pretty tall order, unless it’s automatic. And once again, I contend that when we allow God’s spirit into our hearts, we won’t have to try to be faithful, we will be faithful.

I’ve heard it said, “Don’t let your circumstances control you; control your circumstances.” My simple take on this is we should learn to roll with the punches and react to adversity with a plan B, plan C, or whatever it takes to continue on our course. Too many times, when something blocks our path, we are tempted to throw up our hands and give up, rather than look for another way to get where we want to be.

When we have God’s spirit within us, we will not be tossed about by our circumstances. We will forge ahead in joyful, peaceful faithfulness, knowing God has a plan, and we are a part of it.

Never give up!

9 Comments »

  1. Mike Mashburn said

    Great read today!

  2. Charlie, I came today to tell you how God used your Oct 11 devotion in “Be Still” to reassure me that He knows, His timing is perfect, and He is in control, and I find that today’s post is also exactly what I need to hear! “Be Still” talks about God having perfect timing and a perfect plan, and allowing John the Baptist to play a part in His plan, and how His timing is perfect. The last line says, “Be at peace, knowing God’s plan is perfect, and He is in control.” Well, on Friday 10/11 I read your devotional then turned in the Bible where I was reading at it was Matt 3 – about John the Baptist. Then Saturday morning I glanced at the devotional my husband was reading and it talked about John the Baptist. Ok, Lord, I get it, I hear you … yes, you see what is going on, your timing is perfect, you are in control, and, yes, I will trust you. God allows us to go through great difficulty out of His love for us.I am forging ahead. I am not giving up. God has this and I can hardly wait to see what He does!

    • That is awesome, Cathy! God does that to me all the time! I reckon He knows I don’t pay attention too good, so He tells me the same thing over and over until He’s sure I get it. 🙂

      • I do know it intellectually, but it is nice when in the midst of the storm He gently reminds me to keep my eyes on Him. He is definitely patient with this girl!

      • 🙂

  3. Amen Charles! Sometimes we have to recognize that when challenges arise they aren’t meant to discourage us, rather they are sent to direct us on another route to our dreams.

  4. Reblogged this on Marbles In My Pocket ~ The Official Blog of Charles L. Mashburn ~ Poems, Short Stories, and random thoughts from the author of "Be Still… and know that I am God" and commented:

    I believe this so much! Never give up! Rolling with the punches doesn’t mean rolling on the ground when you get knocked down, it means rolling into the safety of God’s protection, then getting back up and going again.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

