Can You Hear Me Now? ~ November 13

Can You Hear Me Now?

No, I was too busy talking!

A time to be silent…. Ecclesiastes 3:7

Those who know me know I’m secure in my opinions, not afraid to say what I think, and prone to speak first and think second. I also own a sarcastic wit and I’m often “too” quick to use it. There is definitely a time to be silent, but unfortunately, the concept of silence and me are not always in sync.

When I was young, I was extremely shy. No, really, I was! I attribute it to the fact we moved a lot, and I was always the new kid. About the time I’d make a friend or two, off we’d go to the next town, and I’d have to start all over again. It was hard, and caused me to be silent and withdrawn.

Obviously, I came out of my shell, and I sometimes wonder if I should return to those silent days. Being shy and quiet definitely kept me out of a lot of trouble.

There is a time to be silent, and in the spirit of do-as-I-say-not-as-I-do, I encourage you to think before you speak, and if that still small voice says be silent, recognize that the voice is God, and it’s a time to be silent.

2 Comments »

  1. Colline said

    At times I am still too silent. Sometimes one needs to speak up.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

