You Raise Me Up ~ December 20

You Raise Me Up

To more than I can be

Blessed are those whose strength is in you, who have set their hearts on pilgrimage. Psalm 84:5

Pilgrimage is defined as traveling to a shrine or holy place. When we seek to be near the Lord, we seek to be close to Him, and there is no holier place.

I’m reminded of the song, “You Raise Me Up”, in which there is a line, “And I am strong when I am on your shoulders; you raise me up to more than I can be.”

When a child sits astride their father’s shoulders, there is often a look of wonder in the child’s eyes as he or she surveys the world from a position high above the one they normally occupy. When I ask Him to, God carries me on His shoulders and allows me to see, to be, and to do more than I ever dreamed I could. I am in awe of His strength and the depth of His love.

I am on a pilgrimage, and my destination is a place where I can be as near our Lord as I can possibly be. It might take me a while to get there, but I will, and I intend to enjoy the journey. And if I lose sight of my destination, I will ask Him to raise me up onto His mighty shoulders so I can more clearly see my way.

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

