Mewler?… Mewler?… Mewler?

I was dreaming one of those dreams that felt so real I couldn’t decide if I was asleep or awake. You know, total nonsense, but making sense; vague, but somehow crystal clear; characters straight out of Alice In Wonderland, but they seemed to know every intimate detail about me.

The guy at the head of the table was huge, sitting, but looking like he was standing up at the table, and the knife he held in his left fist had a long, wide, gleaming blade. The fork he was white-knuckling in his right hand was glowing red and looked like a pitch fork, minus the wood handle. Drool hung on his chin and the corners of his lips were specked with wet gray matter.

A bowl sat in front of a guy at the other end of the table; he was dipping a finger into the bowl, then licking it, as his eyes darted from me to the big guy. He made a pitiful mewling sound, then lifted the bowl to his face and began licking it clean.

It was an odd looking bowl; pinkish in color, a smooth, round, bottom, and a ring of what appeared to be gray hair around the top of it. When the bowl was thoroughly cleaned, the mewler—he was good-looking in a Clark Kent sort of way; smaller and obviously more mild-mannered than the guy at the other end of the table—put it in front of me and gave me a knowing wink.

Letters began to appear on his shirt one at a time and I watched in rapt fascination as they spelled out S-H-O-U-L-D-H-A-V-E-S. I had a vague sense of what the words meant, but, strangely, the discerning seemed to emanate from my chest rather than my head. I felt strangely light-headed, as I slowly turned toward the big guy at the other end of the table.

My heart cried out as letters appeared on his stained shirt, spelling out, W-H-A-T-I-F-S, the ache in my chest like a vise, as hot tears streamed down my cheeks.

Mewler whined from his end of the table, “Is that all there is?”

……………………………………..

Kellie did it! I had every intention of writing daily encouragements this morning, but as I skimmed my emails, my attention was drawn to the one from Kellie Elmore–Free Write Friday. I love this weekly feature Kellie has on her blog, but with the move and the holidays, I just ain’t had time to offer up anything since about August. I think I managed to sneak one in there in November, but I’m not going to swear to it. Anyway, I took a look at Kellie’s FWF prompt, and it was as if a starter’s gun went off in my idling brain. I know I got some splainin to do, but all I’m gonna tell ya is, the quote below inspired the sordid tale you just read. fwf - brain dead

 

2 Comments »

  1. Sherry Mashburn said

    oooooh . . .

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

