Is It A Lie? ~ January 12

Is It A Lie?

If it’s not the whole truth

“I have sinned, for I have disobeyed the command of the Lord and your instructions. In my fear of the people, I did what they said. (1Samuel 15:24)

I remember when I was a teenager, there seemed to be a high priority placed on truth in advertising. If a company was found to be making false claims about their product or service, they were called out for it, and directed to remove the misleading ad. Today, it seems, there is very little concern regarding what companies (or the government) tell us in order to sell their product, service, or ideas. The even larger problem is that so many people believe them.

The thing is, we might fool some of the people some of the time, but we never fool God. Saul found this out the hard way, and I’m pretty sure the rest of us will, too. God knows our hearts.

But here’s the good news; God does indeed know our hearts, and He knows we’re never going to be perfect. Try as we might, we will make mistakes, and that includes stretching the truth at times (I’m trying to go easy on us here). But God sent Jesus to stand in our stead, and Jesus said, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man comes unto the Father, but by me.

Jesus never lied.

…….

Sharing today’s encouragement on a fellow blogger’s site. J.M. Joachim has invited me to participate in her new “Weekly Bible Verse Reflection Blog Hop”, where she posts a Bible verse and participants submit a reflection for it. I think it will be enlightening, uplifting, and fun!

4 Comments »

  1. adopted80 said

    God is always faithful….. Love it Charlie, Tanks….Oh and I remember those day some ….

  2. Thank you so much for joining this hop. You’re right, we can’t fool God. He knows our hearts, and as much as He is merciful, He’s still God. We need to give Him his proper due. Your reflection speaks volumes to this idea, reminding us all that while we will make mistakes, it’s not okay to just do the wrong thing because we can.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

