Does This Grin Make My Ears Look Big? ~ January 13

Does This Grin Make My Ears Look Big?

(I’ve got no follow-up for that)

Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, to be content. Philippians 4:11

My ears are huge! Mom seen it right off, and says she tried taping them to my head when I was a baby, hoping they’d stay that way when she removed the tape. Me, I endured some teasing as a child, but as I’ve gotten older, I’ve begun to realize the problem is mostly in my mind. And then, too, I’ve learned to accept myself as I am, knowing God made me, and He thinks I look pretty good just the way I am.

The funny thing is, we all tend to be our own worst critic. We see a good looking person, and immediately begin to dwell on our perceived faults and blemishes, as we compare ourselves to them. Or, on the flipside of the coin, we might see someone we think doesn’t look as good as we do, and all of a sudden we’re not so disgusted with our appearance.

Whether it be with regard to looks, talent, intelligence, or all the above, no good can come from comparing ourselves to others. There will always be greater and lesser persons than ourselves, but the good news is, in God’s eyes, we are wonderfully and beautifully made, and He loves us just the way we are.

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

