Take Kindly the Counsel of the Years ~ January 17

Take Kindly the Counsel of the Years

Gracefully surrendering the things of youth

When I was a child, I spoke as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things. 1Corinthians 13:11

I remember it well; I was in my thirties, and for some odd reason thought I should jump over a three-foot-high fence. I think maybe the shoes I had on were a size too big, because the toe of one of them caught the top of the fence and I ended up in a heap on the other side of the fence.

As you might guess, it bothered me for a while, but as the years went by it got easier to accept that as I grew older, my body wouldn’t be able to perform as well as it once had. But! There was a tradeoff, and the older I got the more I liked it. It seemed the less I could do physically, the smarter I got! (Why are y’all laughing?)

I’m pretty sure God had this planned. He knew after I’d jumped my fences, I’d settle down and do the things He had planned for me to do. I sometimes wish I’d known then what I know now, but that ain’t the way it works, I reckon.

When I was young, I gracefully vaulted fences. Now that I’m old, I gracefully surrender to the fact I have to go through the gate now. It’s all good.

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

