I Surrender

Some mornings—maybe most mornings—I wake up with a song playing in my head, and these days, more often than not, it’s a spiritual song. This morning it was the old hymn, I Surrender All. Nothing wrong with that; it beats the heck out of the theme from the Beverly Hillbillies! (You’re welcome! 🙂 ) Then when I checked my emails I came across the prompt from dVerse Poets Pub, and the prompt and the song kind of got all mixed together. The prompt was Poetics: On The Other Hand, and, well, here’s how it turned out:

I Surrender

 

I surrender all

Except this ash tray, and this paddle game

And That's All I Need

And That’s All I Need

All to thee I freely give

But I’ll need my motorcycle

To get to work, ya know

 

In His presence I will daily live

As long as it doesn’t interfere

With my plans

Like during football season

Or Friday nights… just sayin

 

Worldly pleasures all forsaken

Except the chair; I really need the chair

And… that doesn’t include beer… right?

Or ice cream… or, uh… you know

All things in moderation… right?

 

Fill me with thy love and power

Except on Friday nights

That’d be kinda weird

I mean, love and power might be cool

As long as it was sorta manly

 

And, hey…

If I should die before I wake

I pray the Lord my soul to take

But on the other hand

Ham and waffles sounds good

Copyright © 2014 C Mashburn

I know this poem may seem a bit irreverent, but I’m just me, and God gave me this weird sense of humor, so I reckon y’all will just have to sort it out and deal with it best you can. Love ya!

19 Comments »

  1. ha. all to real….unwilling to go all the way in what we will lay down…and surrender….the things that are hard for us, that really have become our small idols in our life….ha…ham and waffles, not fair, i am hungry…

  2. alan1704 said

    ham and waffles sound very good, better a living dog than a dead lion. Like how you expose the truth.

  3. I think this little poem says a lot.. how unwilling we are to let go of the comfort we have.. for whatever reasons and in any context we need to keep what we already have… nobody really like change (even if we say we do)

  4. Laurie Kolp said

    smiling…

  5. Mary said

    You have really gotten to the heart of the human way of thinking, Charles. I think so often we have those mixed feelings that we deal with, conflicts within ourselves, hard choices to make. I especially smiled at the ending…yup, we don’t want our soul taken JUST yet…pancakes first. Waffles first!

    • Oh, I agree, Mary! Life, it seems, is one long inner battle. I also subscribe to this Cherokee legend: One evening an old Cherokee told his grandson about a battle that goes on inside people. He said, “My son, the battle is between 2 “wolves” inside us all.
      One is Evil. It is anger, envy, jealousy, sorrow, regret, greed, arrogance, self-pity, guilt, resentment, inferiority, lies, false pride, superiority, and ego.
      The other is Good. It is joy, peace, love, hope, serenity, humility, kindness, benevolence, empathy, generosity, truth, compassion, and faith.”
      The grandson thought about it for a minute and then asked his grandfather: “Which wolf wins?”
      The old Cherokee simply replied, “The one you feed.”

  6. billgncs said

    all things in moderation, even moderation!

  7. Sherry Mashburn said

    This is absolutely BRILIIANT!! Done very tongue-in-cheek, but it just screams TRUTH.

    • Brilliant is mighty strong word, my sweet. Truth, on the other hand, is what seek to be known by. Love you!

  8. Truedessa said

    There is a constant struggle within what would we be willing to sacrifice and at what price I guess. I do like the sound of some waffles to start a new day.

  9. 🙂 we can never seem to go all in can we. I quote the Jerk all the time. My kids just stare at me…

    • Well, jeez, Mark. If you quoted The Jerk all the time around me, I’D stare at ya! 🙂
      Thanks for the visit and comment!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

