My Little Girl’s Room

I tried writing some songs a few years back, and had a friend help me put a few of them to music. We even made a few demos—he doing the singing—and sent them to some agents.  We never sold anything, and gave up; the business of writing (anything) is demanding and, more often than not, discouraging. Anyhow, I always thought the one I’m posting today would be a hit if someone like Reba McEntire would record it. If you know her, give her a call and put a bug in her ear!

My Little Girl’s Room

 

I remember all the nights when I went down the hall

I’d stand at the door and watch my baby sleep

My heart would fill my throat; my tears would start to fall

As I prayed the Lord her precious soul to keep

 

The years slipped quickly by; I watched her as she grew

I laughed at all the silly things she’d do

She was always there with me; she made my life complete

She knew how to make me smile when I felt blue

 

My little girl’s room… teddy bears on the bed teddy bears on the bed

All of her things scattered on the floor

My little girl’s room… where I tucked her in each night

Then I turned out the light and gently closed the door

 

I remember all the nights when she would sit with me

And tell me all the things she’d done in school

She said I was her best friend as she held my hand

She said she was so lucky to have a mom so cool

 

The years slipped quickly by; I watched her dress for the prom

I wondered, who was this woman standing there

My heart came to my throat, my tears began to fall

As I thought of all the precious times we’d shared

 

My little girl’s room… teddy bears on the bed

All of her things scattered on the floor

My little girl’s room… where I tucked her in each night

Then I turned out the light and gently closed the door

 

Then there was the night, when she came rushing in

I can still see the smile upon her face

I fought back my tears; I know my smile was thin

As she said, Mom, guess what? I’ve found my own place!

 

Now sometimes late at night, I stand there at her door

And stare at an empty floor lit by the moon

My heart comes to my throat; my tears begin to fall

As I stare at what was once my little girl’s room

 

My little girl’s room… teddy bears on the bed

Her things no longer scattered on the floor

My little girl’s room… where I tucked her in each night

Now I turn out the light… and gently close the door

Copyright © 1996 C. Mashburn

I wrote this song from a mother’s perspective in 1996 when Tracey was leaving the nest for what we knew would probably be the final time. It made its way around the Internet for a few years—maybe it still gets around some—and we know of instances, and have been told of others, when it has been recited at weddings. A friend of mine sang it at Tracey’s wedding.

Click the link if you want to hear me ‘try” to sing it. My Little Girl’s Room

Sharing this on dVerse Poets Pub in response to Gay Reiser Cannon’s prompt, Meeting the Bar:  Songwriting and its relationship to poetry.

8 Comments »

  1. whew…not a time in life i look forward to…when they go off to make their own life…and having that empty room to remind me…love the sweet parts up front….made me feel real warm charles…

    • Aw, don’t sweat it, Brian. The way things are going with the economy, they’ll be with you til they’re at least 26! 🙂
      Thanks for the read and comment!

  2. You have tears coming to my eyes.. somehow I get slipping through my fingers in my ears… one of the few ABBA songs I ever liked… and the way it was used in that film… very very touching.

    • Well, dang, Bjorn! I din’t mean to make ya cry! I’m not familiar with ABBA, or the song you mention. I’ll look it up and see what yer talkin bout.
      Thanks for the read and comment! Much appreciated!

  3. Oh Charles – you should sit down with your wife and watch Mama Mia! It’d make you an ABBA fan. You know ABBA – you just don’t know you do!

    I loved this tender piece. It was so sweet and so revealing. I still think I’m going to see legos and car tracks when I walk into my boys rooms. But one is now an office and the other a guest room. Everything changes and everything stays the same. You touched a special place for me too. My grandkids are getting close to that age. Oldest graduates college this year. Very special!

    • Our grandkids are teens and pre-teens, too. The circle keeps turning.
      Thanks, Gail!

  4. billgncs said

    they grow up so fast… how hard to realize that freeing them to fly away is what it’s all about 🙂

    • Exactly! And, if ya raise em right, they’ll let you come live with them after you’ve spent their inheritance. 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by, Bill!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

