How Fun Was That!

This is a true story that took place one moonlit winter night as I sped down the Interstate on my way from Tacoma to Phoenix. I hit a patch of black ice and did a complete 360, coming out of the spin at the very instant the black ice ended. I did not think it was fun!

How Fun Was That!

 

I had just begun the long lonely drive black ice

Mount Shasta loomed on the road’s left side

The moon peaked over her to light the night

I smiled & said all is well… but I lied

 

Suddenly, a battle I began to wage

Eyes wide, I prayed in earnest to be saved

My old pickup, a three-sixty it made

Black ice, bright moon, dark thoughts & white face

 

Spinning, I envisioned a lovely nurse

Then a closed casket in a somber church

In my frightened mind, things could not get worse

I set my lips in a determined purse

 

The full turn complete, the ice at my back

Some fool (‘twas me) whispered, “How fun was that!”

 

Copyright © 2014 C Mashburn

 

This was written in response to dVerse Poets Pub’s “Meeting the Bar” forum, where Tony Maude invited us to play bout rimés with the following set of rhymes, which are taken from a sonnet by a contemporary poet: drive, side, night, lied, wage, saved, made, face, nurse, church, worse, purse, back, that. I did a negative head-shake at first, but as often happens, the words kept sneaking into my thoughts, saying, “Sounds kinda fun. You should try it.” And (as also often happens) I couldn’t resist giving it a shot. I think I did alright for an old hack, and unlike the actual ride I write about, the writing of this bout rimes was indeed fun! If you’d like to read a more detailed account of the “slide”, click on the link: “Black Ice”

27 Comments »

  1. oy…its scary man…i was coming through atlanta once…ice on all the bridges and kept watching cars pirouette around me…i had no where to stop so i kept on..and we made it but…geez….yeah not as fun as it seems….

  2. Sherry Mashburn said

    WOW! Excellent job, Charlie!

  3. claudia said

    haha… sounds like fun indeed…hubs does it sometimes when there’s ice on the road…pulling the handbreak and has the car spin around…i almost die and he laughs…smiles

  4. Tony Maude said

    Really glad you played along, Charles – and that you survived your spin unscathed. Your poem made me smile and the rhymes just begged you to tell this story.

  5. How fun was that indeed.. my knuckles are white gripping the my chair… Glad you made it… black ice is not fun indeed.

    • Still amazes me when I replay the event in my mind. There was nothing I could do but hope. I must be a purty good hoper!
      Thanks, Bjorn!

  6. Oh! That must have been scary. Glad that it did not hurt you in any way.
    -HA

  7. I love this! I was right there with you, spinning to certain death on the ice – then we were fine. Peace, Linda

    • And that’s exactly how it was, Linda. Went from certain demise to pleasant surprise. Shock reigned throughout.
      Thank you!

  8. Harrowing there for a moment but I loved the ending.

  9. Bryan Ens said

    Apparently those words were hand-picked for your story

  10. And original and clever take on the rhymes. Well Done!

  11. Truedessa said

    black ice can be scary when you lose control..I had a recent accident where my car went off the side of the road..tis scary how quickly the
    mind travels as thoughts flash in your head.

    • Yes, the mind can spin fast as a truck on ice, I reckon. Thank you for the visit and comment!

  12. rmp said

    wowzers…that was definitely intense…even though you had prepared me for it with the intro. this worked really well with the given words…quite impressive.

  13. rmp said

    wowzers…that was quite intense even though you let me know what was coming with your intro. this really fit the given words quite perfectly.

  14. ds said

    Driving into the skid–terrifying (and afterward, fun). Very original. Thank you.

    • I was just kidding about the fun! I actually pulled over at the next rest stop to let myself recover from the terror!
      Thanks for the visit and comment!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

