Knowledge = Strength ~ February 21

Knowledge = Strength

Strength = peace

Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. Matthew 11:29

I can definitely vouch for this one; the more I learn about Jesus, the more rest I find for my soul. And, I define that phrase, “rest for your souls”, as peace.

Inner peace (or peace of mind) refers to a state of being mentally and spiritually at peace, with enough knowledge and understanding to keep oneself strong in the face of discord or stress. Being “at peace” is considered by many to be healthy and the opposite of being stressed or anxious. Peace of mind is generally associated with bliss (joy), happiness and contentment.

To take Jesus’ yoke upon us is simply allowing Him to come into our lives and guide us to live humbly and gently; the way He lived, the way he is, and the way He will always be. His promise, should we accept His invitation, is rest for our souls. I liken it to a mother beckoning her child to come and sit upon her lap. A child in a mother’s loving arms knows he is safe and all is well.

If we’re weary and burdened, we need to climb into the lap of Jesus, learn His ways, and He will give us rest for our troubled souls.

Yes, it is that simple.

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

