Some Are Born To Lead

Others… not so much.

One afternoon, at my last job, my supervisor called to me as I passed by his office/cubicle, so I went in and took a seat in the chair across from him.

“I’m going to be out of the office a lot the next few weeks,” he said. He was smiling as he said it, but, he was always smiling.

“What’s up?” I replied.

Still smiling broadly, he said, “I’m going to be attending a natural leadership class.” smiling boss

Now I was smiling, waiting for the punch line. After a few long seconds, realizing there  would not be one, I said, “For real?”

He gave me a shrug, like… well of course it’s for real.

I leaned toward him and said, “Boss… if a person is a natural leader, they don’t need a class for it. And… if they’re not, they can’t learn how to be one from a class.”

I never saw him turn so beet red before.

As I got up to leave, I smiled and said, “Natural, being the key word, of course.”

OKAY! Take your best guess… Was I working for a government agency?

4 Comments »

  1. Sherry Mashburn said

    Of course you were . . . government agencies LOVE leadership classes (natural or otherwise).

  2. “A few weeks”? Good night, seems like it would be more cost efficient to fire him and go through a hiring process with someone new than invest that much into one person…

    • Well, ya see, Bryan, it wasn’t just him; they had a whole auditorium full of future natural leaders!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

