Waffle Fail!

I’m the head chef around here, and Saturday & Sunday morning, I usually cook us a pretty good breakfast… Something went slightly awry this morning.

I threw some bacon and sausage on the griddle and whipped up a batch of pecan waffles—a family favorite!

Then, as I poured the batter into the waffle iron, I knew something wasn’t right. I use the same bowl every time I make waffles, and there wasn’t as much batter in the bowl as there normally is. But I just shrugged it off and continued on my merry way.

The waffles were definitely weird looking—real fluffy when I took them off the iron, but then they kind of deflated. We ate ‘em anyway. Not bad… if you like chewy waffles that taste funny. Fortunately, we had lots of syrup and homemade jam to douse them with.

I finally realized what I’d done. Can you see what’s wrong with this picture?

oopsie!

oopsie!

(In my defense, I believe incidents like this one to be the result of an inherited trait. Check out the following stories, and You’ll see what I’m talking about.)

Mom’s Cooking – Survival 101

Mom’s Cooking – Survival 102

Don’t Drop the Fudge

7 Comments »

  1. Sherry Mashburn said

    They were definitely interesting!

  2. Heidi said

    I don’t ever remember having to put flour in Bisquick….

    • Exactly! I was reading the directions off the Bisquick box, but instead of putting 2 cups of Bisquick in the mix, I grabbed the flour canister and put in 2 cups of flour. DOH!

      • Heidi said

        LOL That like when my mom was making applesauce. She put the water from the apples back in at the end. We could drink it. Still tasted good.

      • 🙂

  3. […] Regarding the waffle comment, click here to read about my Saturday morning misadventure last week: Waffle Fail! […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

