The Wickenburg Special

When I was a youngster, I spent a fair amount of time at the bowling alley just west of town. There was a small drug-store-like café there, and as I sat on a stool one afternoon, studying the overhead menu board, I noticed a new item… the Wickenburg Special. I asked the waitress what the heck a Wickenburg Special was, and as she continued busily past me, she said,

“Grilled peanut butter and jelly.”

I thought, That’s crazy talk! You can’t grill a peanut butter and jelly sandwich!

I didn’t try it then, but some years later, I remembered the Wickenburg Special, and thought, why not. Toast and jam… peanut butter and jelly… it sounded kinda good. I still didn’t think you could grill a peanut butter & jelly sandwich though, so I toasted the bread, buttered it, then put the peanut butter and jelly on it. Awwwww-SUM!

The next step in the evolution was to grill the bread and then put the PB&J on it. Even more awesome!

Then, a few years ago, we discovered HEB’s jalapeno cheese bread, and one day I thought maybe a grilled PB&J on it would be good; get that sweet-hot thing goin’ on, ya know?

Well, guess what. It’s DOUBLE awesome!

I tell people about it all the time, and I get some pretty weird looks, but anyone I can get to try it (Mom and Ray love it) agree it’s pretty DANG good!

But here’s the problem; there’s no HEB near Trinity, and the Brookshire Brothers version of jalapeno cheese bread just doesn’t measure up. So, it was a matter of necessity; we got a bread making machine, and we are very impatiently waiting for the first batch to finish baking.

Hoping for success!

Hoping for success!

We’ll update you later today regarding the outcome!

4 Comments »

  1. Gary said

    I didn’t know you bowled???

  2. dale Hansen said

    I like to invent things to eat my self , but going to have to study on this one . I started just recently making my own special gaclemoly ( easy to say but no can spell it. ( any way it’s that stuff made with avocadoes ). I made the mistake of taking it to a get together along with my home made chips. Now I have been making it for the neighbor hood. Think I will put a sticker on it and sell to the stores.. Feeling better all the time, In the miost of painting my house. Can only work for about 3 or 4 hours then my legs start swelling up., But that’s better than before.

    Date: Sun, 6 Jul 2014 14:18:29 +0000 To: trksie@hotmail.com

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

