It’s All Good!

Most of the time I’m upbeat and positive about life, but, now and then, something knocks me on my butt, and I find mud puddlemyself sitting in a mud hole (better than being face down in it), blinking and feeling dazed. At times like those, the power of the positive is scattered all around me, and I begin to think I’m only one misstep away from complete and utter failure.

Speaking of failure, let’s talk about dieting. First question: Who decided what a calorie is? I looked it up, and as you might expect there’s more than one way to count calories, and what’s on the package is merely a guess, based on a scientific theory. I say eat what you want, but don’t over eat, AND, exercise as much as you can, then exercise some more. However! I’m told that “theory” only works for men. Lesson learned: Men should not talk to women about angry womandieting! Oh, you can try, but you better wear one of those “winning smiles” while you do. (I’m not at all sure what a winning smile looks like, but I’m pretty darn sure I don’t own one.)

Ah, but isn’t life grand—it must be, ‘cause they named a biscuit after it! Some say, “It’s all good,” but that can’t be true. Good couldn’t exist without bad to compare it to. Another lesson I’ve learned: One small mistake can erase a whole sack-full of good. I hate it when that happens. (See the section above re: talking to women about dieting.)

Speaking of sacks; the world seems to have gone crazy. The bully ate our lunch, popped the sack, and now he’s dragging us toward that darn mud hole again.

And yet… most of the time… I’m at peace with myself and the world—in spite of the condition of both.

It’s all good!

Copyright © 2014 C Mashburn

 

4 Comments »

  1. Sherry Mashburn said

    The pig looks angry . . . must be a girl pig!

  2. Janet said

    That was spot on….love it!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

