Cannonball!

I know every guy reading this–well almost every guy–was once this 6-9 year-old boy overlooking the world from the high diving board at the town pool. I can promise you, I did not write this poem using second-hand information. I post it again today for all my high school chums here at the reunion. Enjoy!

Cannonball

 

The girls all scream and curse me

The boys threaten bodily harm

Soaked one and all from my cannonball

I toss them some toothless charm

 

Six years of age and afraid of nothing

I scramble up the high ladder again

Stand on the board overlooking the world

Drying fast in a hot summer wind

 

A glorious day I’m thinking

Looking down at the sparkling pool

In the shallow end, little brothers        

Horsing ‘round and acting the fool

 

Ah, but the audience below me

Jealous disdain in their eyes

Shouting and calling me names

Tis my bravery they truly despise

 

Without warning I leap from the board

As one they gasp at my daring

I fly through the air, grinning wide

No teeth in the front, but not caring

 

I hit the water with a solid kerplunk

Knees hugged up tight to my chin

When I break water to a chorus of insults

I know I’ve soaked them all again

 

Copyright © 1998 C. Mashburn

Click here to hear the author read this poem —> http://soundcloud.com/marbles-in-my-pocket/cannonball

 

3 Comments »

  1. Gary said

    Tell them about your belly-flops!

  2. Reblogged this on Marbles In My Pocket ~ The Official Blog of Charles L. Mashburn ~ Poems, Short Stories, and random thoughts from the author of "Be Still… and know that I am God" and commented:

    Posting this one for my good pal, Diana Preston. She’s had a rough go for a bit, and says my silly poems and stories helped her some along the way, and I’m glad for that. I’ve posted this one many times, but it’s one of my favorites–kind of a “Welcome Summer” thang–so here it is again. It’s a perfect way to welcome an other summer. You can even listen to yours truly recite it by clicking the link at the bottom of the page.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

