Are You Kidding Me !?!?!?

Talk about feeling blessed; my little incident at the Phoenix airport this morning left me with grin on my old mug that refuses to go away.

I’d arrived early enough so that there was no rush to get to the gate, and

They're Real!

They’re Real!

so was feeling pretty good about the way things were starting out. As some of you may know, I had quite an interesting time getting to Phoenix from College Station, but that’s another story.

As I normally do, before I go through security, I put everything from my pockets into the front pocket of my backpack. I just feel better doing that, rather than digging it all out and putting it in a bowl for all the world to see.A few minutes later, when I was about to place my backpack on the conveyor to go through the scanner, I saw the front pouch was partially open, and snatched bag back. Opening it, my heart sank; my wallet was gone. I moved over out of the way and searched the pack frantically, but the wallet was gone. Everything else appeared to be there.

I quickly retraced my steps, and, not finding the wallet, went to the nearest TSA person and asked them what I should do. They said to go through the screening process, then talk to the agents at the desk.As I did so, I resigned myself to the fact the wallet was probably gone forever, and started formulating a plan to take care of the sordid business of cancelling credit and debit cards. Not fun, but, hey, life would go on.

The folks at the TSA counter were friendly and helpful, but to no avail. But as I was talking to them, my phone rang. I looked at it and saw that it was my step dad, Ray, and, I kid you not, relief washed over me. Somehow, I knew my angels were on duty.

“Hello.”

“Where are you?”

“The Security desk at the Phoenix airport.”

“Okay. Officer Higgins of the Phoenix police department has your wallet, and wants to know where you are so he can bring it to you.”

I wish you could have seen the smile on my face! Ray gave me the officer’s phone number, and within five minutes he was walking toward me, grinning and holding my wallet up.

Are you kidding me???

Am I blessed or WHAT!?!?

P.S.: I have more to say about the TSA folks in Phoenix (all good), but I’ll get back to you on that.

5 Comments »

  1. Sherry Mashburn said

    Blessing above and beyond measure!!!

  2. Gary said

    Only you Mashburn!!

  3. […] won’t go into detail, but you can read about it in my post, Are You Kidding Me. The short version is, I lost my wallet, and with the help of several TSA agents, Officer Higgins […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

