What Do You See?

My friend, Waynette, posted this on Facebook this morning:This is my favorite time of day. It’s peaceful and nothing has gone wrong yet. Tuesdays are good days

I commented: It’s my favorite time of the day, too! It’s peaceful, and I’m thinking about all the awesome things that await me. Granted, most days, those awesome things get postponed, and the day is filled with normal stuff–even bad stuff sometimes–but, heck, at my age… I’m just glad I get to be here! By the way… you sure this is Tuesday???

What do you see when the sun comes up?

 

The Sun Came Up Again

 

The sun came up again

IT's not always glorious...

IT’s not always glorious…

 

Across the street

In the neighbor’s yard

Through early budding tree limbs

 

The sky glowed fiery red

Then golden

Then dazzling white

As another day began

 

A slash of light

Fell ‘cross my arms as I wrote

The thought crossed my mind

That I’d said too much

Heard too much

And it had changed things

 

I wondered

If they had changed for the better

I hoped so

 

I’ve changed things before

By being too open

Too honest

 

I’ve watched the sun come up

Regretting words I’d spoken

The day before

You would think I’d learn

 

I have learned

 

I’ve learned

That the sun will come up

Sometimes you will see it

And feel it

Sometimes you won’t

But it’s there

 

Love is like that

At times you can bask in its warmth

And feel its arms wrapped around you

A flash of it will lay across your heart

 

Then at other times

It falls silent

And cool

It’s still there

Just not as obvious

 

 You have to know it’s there

Never doubt it

Never turn away

Just know that behind the cloud

Behind the mountain

Behind whatever has made the warm glow fade

It is there

 

You have to let it be there

You have to want it to be there

It can’t always be glorious

It can’t always be spring

 

 Copyright © 1998 C Mashburn

Most of you have already seen this poem, but it’s one of my favorites, and I’ll probably share it again and again, as long as I’m doing the Blog and other various social media.

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

