You’re Okay, They’re Okay!

A line from the famous poem, Desiderata, says it well; If you compare yourself with others you may become vain and bitter, for there will always be greater and lesser persons than yourself.”

It’s not in our nature to be content with our current state, and it wasn’t in the Apostle Paul’s nature. In Water hole #11Philippians 4:11 he says, “I have learned to be content.” Salvation doesn’t automatically make us patient or content, but it offers those things, and all God’s gifts, if we allow Him to teach us His ways.

I believe salvation is a one-on-one event between each individual and God, and, likewise, learning about God and His ways is an individual endeavor. Certainly, it’s okay to learn as a group, but each person must progress at their own pace within their own ability to understand.

Learn to be content with who you are and where you are, and allow others to do likewise.

Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, to be content. Philippians 4:11

3 Comments »

  1. […] You’re Okay, They’re Okay!. […]

  2. r2a2r2j2 said

    This morning 13 degrees below zero without the windchill factor. A quote from your writing: ” Salvation doesn’t automatically make us patient or content, but it offers those things, and all God’s gifts, if we allow Him to teach us His ways.” And so it is even colder where I live, but I have learned a little more patience with this horrid cold. Yes, it is horrid cold. At church on Sunday, a friend shared with me two books by Jonathan Cahn, and at a 2nd hand store I blessed to find “God’s Little Devotional Bible” (which is actually quite thick) but a teriffic find; Thank you God for bringing me to it. (The entire Bible arranged in 365 daily readings with devotions) Just what I need Right Now! And all the blogs I read at Word Press. So many things God has taught me since I wrote you last time, in this terrible cold that has struck this region of the country. I am grabbing warm blankies, warm prayers, warm words, and hot tea and leaning on God to guide me through. (With a nap in between there somewhere) 🙂 Sunday’s predicted weather is 40 degrees above zero. Unreal! Can hardly wait! See. . . .my God saw my need for learning how to deal with this. Learning Patience and how to be content in this cold! An Awesome God!! Thank you for your writing . You are so encouraging!!

    • I don’t do cold well. But, like you, I’m learning to be content no matter what. One of my methods is to keep reminding myself that every cold day puts me one day closer to spring! 🙂

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

