Be A Good Scout

Rainbow - number 10 tee boxI was a Boy Scout… for one weekend. I attended one campout, during which my shish kabob fell into the fire and the apple I wrapped in foil and buried beneath the fire got sand in it when I hit it with my shovel digging it up.

It was my first lesson in thinking ahead and planning for the unexpected, and it stuck with me. I’ve learned it’s a good thing to expect the best, but be prepared for the worst.

What we should not do, is allow potential problems to cause us stress. That’s called worrying, and worrying won’t keep sand out of your half-baked green apple.

Faith will help us make the right preparations for our various endeavors, and allow us to approach any situation with peace of mind, knowing God’s got our back.

He that is of a proud heart stirs up strife: but he that puts his trust in the LORD shall be prospered. Proverbs 28:25

1 Comment »

  1. Reblogged this on Marbles In My Pocket ~ The Official Blog of Charles L. Mashburn ~ Poems, Short Stories, and random thoughts from the author of "Be Still… and know that I am God" and commented:

    Joan Marion said: Grey skies, damp,cold weather-isn’t that enough to experience, please let’s stop the hate and mean postings . Find something wonderful and inspiring to share.
    I am happy to oblige!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

