If You Can Touch It…

I played wide receiver on our high school football team, and I wasn’t fast, but I was He Never Gives Upsure-handed. The coach simply told me, “If you can touch it, you can catch it.” I understood this in the sense that catching a football was as much mental as physical: if I believed I could catch the ball, and it was within my reach, I could catch it. Confidence is the key.

It only took the coach one time to convince me, so why did it take most of my life for me to understand God will give me peace and joy if I simply believe He will. Too many times, I received His word, believed it, then dropped the ball.

Our faith is our belief in the rock—Jesus—and He has the surest hands ever!

Those on the rock are they, who, when they hear, receive the word with joy; and these have no root, who for a while believe, and in time of temptation fall away. Luke 8:13

2 Comments »

  1. r2a2r2j2 said

    James 1:8 A double-minded man is un-stable in all his ways. and James 4:8 Draw nigh to God, and he will draw nigh to you. Cleanse your hands, ye sinners; and purify your hearts, ye double minded.

    Speaking for myself, I know that in playing ball games as a kid, I always focused on that ball. I knew I wanted that ball, with all my heart and mind. And I wanted to win that game with my team! FOCUS! As an adult, OH there are so many distractions, so many worries, so many WANTS, goals, needs not just for myself but for my family and friends and often when I pray, I have to remind myself that I MEAN IT, I BELIEVE IT, and I believe God will provide it if it is in the best interest of all concerned. HE knows best, (Its when I find myself wondering “did he hear me?” Its when I start feeling abandoned. I am not abandoned. When I start feeling like this, its usually because I stopped talking with Him, stopped reading, stopped thinking of Him, stopped considering Him in all I do, I stopped Thanking Him for all his Blessings. And my prayers go. . . .well. . . .lets just say. . .without me knowing the actual results. Some will go unaswered, for sure, for I have let the world carry me off into its anxiousness, and many distractions and become the double-minded man. So glad God tell us about the Double minded man, and how easy it is to not be. He is so good to us. Gentle words He uses. Notice how God doesn’t say something like: “Hey you!, Focus!, You’re all over the place, How am I supposed to know WHAT you want, Kid?” He just brings us back with “Draw nigh unto God, and he will draw nigh unto you.. . . .True Loving God fashion. Thank you, God.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

