I Got A Peaceful Easy Feeling

Several years ago, I planted a new lawn, then I fertilized… then fertilized… then greener grass 1fertilized some more. When the grass matured the lawn was beautiful, green, and luscious, but it was so thick I could hardly mow it!

Bigger, shinier, and/or greener, is not always better. Sometimes the cost (I’m not necessarily talking about dollars) of the things we covet are more than we can afford. Sure, I had a beautiful lawn, but it cost me a lot of sweat!

Being content is the same as being at peace. If we focus on God, knowing He will never leave us nor forsake us, we will be able to say, “I got a peaceful easy feeling, and I know He won’t let me down. ‘Cause I’m already standing… on the greenest lawn in town.”

Let your conduct be without covetousness; and be content with such things as you have: for he has said, I will never leave you, nor forsake you. Hebrews 13:5

4 Comments »

  1. r2a2r2j2 said

    Insofar as the lawn mattered, my Dad found peace in whatever was coming up green. (Not really a bad philosophy! I’ve taken it as my own.) And it was nobody’s business what was on his lawn anyway, (We lived in the cutest little suburban neighborhood circle of houses where appearances “kind of” mattered.) He figured if his lawn was green, all’s well and good. It was those dandelions that had it in for him, they exposed his “less than neighborlyness-ness”. He always said he just knew as soon as he opened the garage door, the dandelions heard it opening, and bowed down real low, and when they heard the lawn mower growling, they bowed down lower and hid under under the grass. Just as soon as he put the lawn mower away and closed that garage door, set out the lounge chair, with a shot and beer, and woke up, the dandelions popped up. A few choice words later, another shot and a beer, after watching my Uncle Phil, across the street, dig up his dandelions from his lawn and then fertalize his lawn and water his lawn, my Dad’s dandelion’s disappeared in a hazey clouded mind. I loved the dandelions. I loved their color, their texture, I loved getting the yellow on my fingers. I loved when they turned into “blow about fairies”. After those few choice words of my father’s, I’d go across the street and follow my Uncle Phil around the yard, from one dandelion to the other to uproot them. It was the way he found peace. It was the way I found peace. I loved it. Uncle Phil knew God, he talked about God and taking care of the lawn. We find peace in all the tasks that we have to do, when we remember that God is with us. Dad recovered with God. A huge task. Same lawn, same dandelions until he went home. God, remind us always that you are there. Thank – you God. (and thank you for dandelions.) Thank you Charles Mashburn for reminding us what a Great and mighty God we serve.

    • Awesome story! I heard something about dandelions recently that made me stop and think–I’ll probably work it into one of my writings this spring–it said the dandelions were important to the bees in early spring. Makes sense.
      Thanks for the great comment/story!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

