Wherever You Are

We lived in a little out-of-the-way place on Lake Travis called Spicewood Beach forwherever you are almost ten years, and though some days were awesome (the majority of them), some were better than others, some were not so good, and some were pretty bad, it was a season of my life worth remembering. The good times with friends were great, the battles with enemies were fierce, and, truth be known, we got outta there just in time.

The Way It Is Now

Yep, I been some places

Done some things

And it goes without saying

Some of those things

I shoulda left undone

Some were memorable

And others were painfully forgettable

But

It’s not always about the season

Quite often it’s all about the place

Life’s kinda like the restaurant business

It’s all about location, but

Timing is important too

And looking back on that particular season

I was there at the best of times

And got out when the gettin’ was good

I look back now and remember

The way things were—pretty much awesome

But I know I can’t go back

It wouldn’t be the same

Never is

But that’s okay

I’m in a great place now

And spring is springing as we speak

In fact

Things are so good

I feel like I’ve died and gone to heaven

So if anyone asks about me, just tell them

Oh, he’s gone

But…

He’s in a better place

No sir, life ain’t about where you been

Ain’t about where you’re going either

Truth is, it’s about where you are

And who you’re with

Some stay in one place their whole life

Some of us move around like little Johnny

With ants in his pants

I’m with people I love

And we’re in a really good place

So, whatever season you’re in

And wherever you are…

Enjoy life

You may never pass this way again

And even if you do

It probably won’t be

The way it is now

Copyright © C Mashburn 2015

2 Comments »

  1. Good one!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

