What Are the Odds?

Pennies 4-7I spend 3-4 days a week in College Station, and I try to get in at least one three-mile walk a day–more if I can. I sometimes take those walks in one of the many beautiful parks, but more often than not, I walk the Highway 6 access road right outside the RV park we stay in.On my walk this morning, I was thinking about my poem, Pennies From Heaven, and lo and behold, I glanced down, and there was

The road I walk

The road I walk

 a penny beside the road; kind of an odd place to find one, although I’ve found them in stranger places. Of course, it made me smile, and I even thought to take a picture of it before picking it up. When I reached the mile and a half turn-around spot, I was quite shocked to see another penny on the shoulder of the road. What are the odds?

Pennies from Heaven

 I found a penny today, Pennies 4-7 2

Just laying on the ground.

But it’s not just a penny,

This little coin I’ve found.

Found pennies come from heaven.

That’s what my Grandpa told me.

He said “Angels toss them down.”

Oh, how I loved that story.

He said when an angel misses you,

They toss a penny down,

Sometimes just to cheer you up,

To make a smile out of a frown.

So don’t pass by that penny Pennies 4-7 4

When you’re feeling blue;

It may be a Penny from Heaven

That an Angel’s tossed to you.

Copyright © 1998 C Mashburn

If your interested, here’s a link to the  story, Pennies From Heaven .

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

