What’s the Hurry?

If you’re standing still, you’re falling behind, is no-doubt true in this fast-paced, M & R 3 slow downcompetitive world we live in. But, is speed the only way to achieve success?

I’m not slow or fast when I’m working on a project, but somewhere in between, and I believe a steady pace with attention to detail is the way to achieve success. And if we get tired, or encounter a situation which requires thought and possibly a change in plan or direction, we should take a break, step back, and look things over.

In most industries, time is money, but putting too much emphasis on speed can cause costly mistakes, and finishing on time means little if the budget isn’t kept.

Why are we in such a hurry? Slow down, be still, and let the world rush on by. Slow and steady wins the race.

The plans of the diligent lead to profit as surely as haste leads to poverty. Proverbs 21:5

4 Comments »

  1. r2a2r2j2 said

    My Mom had a sign up in our home when I was a kid that read, “The hurrier I go, the behinder I get !” It is so true in so many ways.

  2. r2a2r2j2 said

    Haven’t written in awhile because I have just had it with the weather here where I live. It is April 15 and just today I can see my lawn. . .finally … whew! Maine’s 5th season is about to hit (mud season). Anyway, as I walked up the walkway to my door I could see some green sprouts of tulips poking up! YAY! Thank you God. So discouraged, as many Mainer’s are, I have been painting pictures of the beautiful garden’s of elsewhere. Maine has a thriving art/craft community on the coast mostly, but central Maine as well. Must be to beat this “Cabin Fever” that hits just before the “Spring” especially when “Spring” takes it’s evalovintime. God has helped me much this season, and many other artist friends who await the beauty of His “green” earth and who hope to share Gods Beauty with those who are wrapped up in the world so distracting. Glad to share that I have been healed of a back injury so bad that I could not sit long enough in my studio to paint so I engulfed myself in God and his word this winter. Helped me with my focus. So glad God has blessed me with this talent. Also wonderful to encourage my artist friends on facebook and keep them uplifted so they can keep sharing with others too. I learn so much from them. God has taught me so, so much this last Autumn, Winter, and Spring. God has opened many more doors for me lately but, I am still here, at wordpress as well, reading. Bless you, and Thank God for you and your encouraging words. Enjoy reading your blog always! Keeps my Marbles in line.

    • Well, I feel for you on the weather issue, but I am glad to hear you’re blessed in spite of it! We’re well into spring here in East Texas, and it is absolutely gorgeous! Actually, I’m off to Home Depot in a few minutes to pick up materials for my next project! Have a blessed day!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

