There Is No Cure

worry is a choiceThe world would have us believe anxiety is a medical condition, and I strongly disagree. How we deal with anxiety or worry can cause medical conditions, but in and of itself anxiety is not a physical malady. And a chorus of “Yes, but,” went up all over the world.

Worry is not something that comes upon us; it’s something we choose to do. If worry is  a medical condition, then is happiness a medical condition? And I suppose they have a medicine and/or treatment to cure happiness? (They probably do… or they’re working on it.)

Anxious: experiencing worry, unease, or nervousness, typically about an imminent event or something with an uncertain outcome.

Hope: looking forward to something, expecting it to happen.

Worry is fear, hope is faith, and there is no middle ground.

There is a remedy for worry (Jesus), but there is no cure.

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. Philippians 4:6

4 Comments »

  1. r2a2r2j2 said

    Not only that, Worry becomes a horrible habit. Worry causes the Stress, causes the Illness, causes the Doc to prescribe medication on top of more medication after more stress is caused when our mind finds more things to worry about the stronger the habit becomes. I must confess, I had to study my “thinking/worry” habits and found that I actually began my worry wart wonderings as soon as my eyes opened in the morning. Yes 5:30 AM!! I laughed hysterically one morning, when the first thought in my mind (an awful worry thought) even threw me for a loop! I worried, “I wonder if Joni (my cat), is getting too fat?” Then I said to God, “God, did you hear me? I’m ridiculous!” (and I continued to laugh) when I stopped laughing at myself I promised that when I wake up in the morning, I will pray for my family and friends and anyone I know that needs it, and let God know that I think He’s great! What a habit, worry had become in my life; “Is my cat too fat?” Oh dear, what to do, what to do. . . .Oh, what a stresser! When she’s lucky I brought her home from the Shelter when I did, fat or not. I named her, “Joni Full-O-Baloni”, what else? Better than, “Fat Chance” a horse I use to ride. . . .

    • Ain’t it the truth? We can find some of the silliest things to worry about. I find myself having similar thoughts (don’t have a cat, though) and my favorite thing to tell myself when I do is, “Are you kidding me?” I know there are millions of people who would give anything to have my “problems”. It’s all relative.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Please leave a comment! We love hearing from you!

